2016 zydeco half marathon

Standard

This weekend was pretty cool. As far as running goes, on Saturday morning I ran a 5K and placed second in my age group. I was pretty excited about this because I haven’t run fast in a long time and it rained all morning and the streets were very wet and it was still drizzly. During the 5K, I was expecting my legs to feel fatigued, specifically my quads. Normally, that is what happens. It didn’t happen this time. I realized I feel much stronger since using weights and my newest work out. That was a really nice surprise.
On Sunday morning, I laced up and lined up for the zydeco half marathon. More weirdness. I had no anxiety at all leading up to the race. This was unusual for me. The race itself was awesome. The course is different from when I first ran it. I realize now that for those running the full marathon, it is no longer a double loop, but a single loop around Lafayette. The course was stocked full of wonderful interactive volunteers. Water stops were not congested at all. There was an abundance of police stationed all over the course to keep us safe on the roads. I am not great at pacing myself so I jumped on with a two hour 15 minute pace group that was paired with a four hour 30 minute full marathon pace group. This was the first time I have ever been with a pace group from beginning to end. It was so much fun. There was lots of conversation, storytelling, laughter, encouragement. As me and my pacer peeled off from the full marathon group, it ended up being just the two of us. We had about 3 miles to go. I still had a good bit left in my tank so at about the 12.5 mile mark I asked her if, since it was just the two of us, could we just let it rip till the end. We were slightly ahead of our pace. Unfortunately, she has to finish on time regardless. So, I thanked her for her support and I let it rip all by myself. I was really happy to cross the finish line a couple of minutes ahead of my plans to our 15 minute goal. The weather was fantastic. We started at 60° with a slight breeze. I decided to try out my Skechers shoes that I bought at the Los Angeles Marathon. I am so glad I did. The cushioning is amazing. The only pain I have in my feet comes from running without socks and needing a pedicure. Given the current state of my life, I consider this small potatoes. I celebrated by having frozen yogurt with a few sugary toppings. I won’t muddy the water with my regular life, but I will say I feel happy. And God is certainly so good to me.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

