The proposal

Standard

I realized something startling last night. Almost 20 years ago before I got married for the third time, I knew I wanted to marry my husband. We took a trip to Jamaica and had a honeymoon Villa and I just  knew a proposal was on the way during that trip. Well there was ganja and Coke and liquor, but alas, no proposal. I remember being interiorly crushed. Didn’t he want me to be his wife? What was wrong with me?

Then, sometime later, as in months and months later… We were at the mall and said husband to be pushed a box that was ring size across the table in the food court to me. No words were said. He just gave me the box with a diamond ring in it. No proposal still. But, judging from the size of the diamond, I figured he wanted to get married so that’s what we did.

I had a revelation last night. Why was a wedding proposal from him so blasted important to me? I always wondered that and I now know the answer. I simply wanted someone to love me so much and to want me so much that he would ask me to marry him. The words were important to me. I wanted to know someone cared for me enough to ask me to be his. For almost 2 decades the lack of proposal has been a very small Bee in my bonnet. It isn’t anymore. And I see things so much more clearly now than I ever have before especially when seeing narcissism in full bloom. Why would he give me something so special that he knew I wanted? Well he wouldn’t. Because that’s what narcissists do. They withhold things from the people who love them. And finally, last night, after thinking long and hard about it and bringing this newly acquired knowledge to God, He assured me that the only one I ever truly belonged  to or will ever belong to is Him. And that was more than enough. 

   

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

