Even though

Standard

Even though it feels like there is a storm raging around me, there isn’t. It’s just my perception. It’s temporary. I can and do make choices to lean on God. Creating healthy habits and making them real HABITS – something that I fall back on regularly – like prayer, honoring my commitment to read a chapter a day in the books I’m currently reading (which, at the present time are “Courage” by Debbie Ford, and “Addictive Thinking and the Addictive Personality”), like fueling my body with healthy things (I had healthy Cocoa Crispies for dinner last night, followed by a couple of Blue Bell Fudge Bars for dessert.), and putting one foot in the front of the other, despite dumb choices (see dinner menu from last night:)…all these things help me gain a healthier perspective of my life, a real perspective of my life. One that says, “Knowing isn’t being,” and knowing that I am faithfully trying to BE. This is a ramble. That’s okay. I just was feeling overwhelmed & realized that my trusty blog always helps me sort things out & get centered again. Inhale. Exhale. Think of the candles I’m going to make later today. Think of the moment. Great moment – yesterday – I was wrapping up my time with my wonderful counselor, Jo, and my phone rang. It was my son! We don’t get to talk much. At all. Twice a week, for 10 minutes at a time. I’ll take it! Anywho. I called him back when I got in the car. We were talking about our respective weeks & chatting about the activities we wanted to do when I go visit him in a couple of weeks. At the end, he asked me, casually, “So…have you had a drink?” I melted. I was so proud to be able to say, “NO!!! Baby, those days are OVER! You inspired me and I haven’t turned back.” It felt so good to be able to say that to my son. I’m so proud of him and the work he is doing on himself. Addiction is genetic, I’m convinced of that. But we don’t have to marinate in it, do we? It’s curable, with work. I love my sober life and I can tell that my son loves his, too. I’m so excited to go see him! We are planning all kinds of good things! I feel better already… đŸ™‚ Peace, y’all.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

