a different rhythm…

Standard

i just finished telling my daughter tonight–she is 14–what evenings were like when she was much, much younger and all the kids were here – as in the 3 big kids…the table was full, the burners were full, the oven was working overtime.  the house was noisy.  is your homework done?  are you sure?  who’s taking a bath first?  you can take a shower.  pre-determined breakfast requests.  all between 5 & 9 p.m.  it was divine.  things are a little slower now.  the kids are bigger; their problems are different.  my love for them is more intense, as i see them all becoming their future selves, little by little, hardship by hardship, good fortune by good fortune…the rhythm is different, but no less spectacular.  our boys are young men, good young men.  our daughter – my step, but how i love her – is amazing and strong with a beautiful, welcoming spirit.  those are the 3 big kids.  my two daughters – well, i am still lucky enough to see them every day and i thank God for that.  i know, i know, life changes, we change with it, yadda, yadda, yadda.  it still doesn’t negate the fact that sometimes, i just wish i had to holler upstairs for the big kids to come to dinner & i had the honor of kissing all 5 kids goodnight every night.  i do pretty well for the most part.  i live in the moment as best i can.  i just love our children so very much.  sigh…

peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. Trace Atkins writes a song that beautifully depicts this called “Your gonna miss this”. I sobbed the first time I heard it! When my 3 sons were babies 4yrs, 1 yr and newborn, I couldn’t wait for diaper days to be over and for them to be a little more independent. And now I blink and they are 14 yr (soon to be 15 in March) 12 years and 11years.WOw the time flew by and sometimes glancing at their baby pics I would love to go back and slow down and embrace every moment instead of trying to hurry life along! So Im learning to embrace the hectic schedule and remember these crazy days f homeschooling and getting everyone to basketball, baseball and football practices is FUN! and one day I will miss these days. Your days sound like mine…Whos first in the shower? Is your room cleam?Did you guys take your gummie vitamins? Bring me all your dirty clothes to wash? AAAAHHHHH. Embrace this…Life is a gift..not an emergency! Find the gifts in the everyday living, in the everyday! Reading ANN VOSKAMPS 1,000 gifts….its so changing my perspective and making me fall more in love with the Lord and my hubby and my sons in such a sweet way! Thanks for reminding me to embrace the moment and enjoy TODAY! Thanks and have a blessed and beautiful, peaceful and memory making weekend!

Leave a Reply

