grateful

Standard

i’m here! freezing, damp, icy days…i ran the Louisiana Marathon last Sunday. 4:10. okay. i’ll take it. way far from BQ’ing, but, like anything, i got out of it what i put into it, and since i ran the practice race at the beginning of december, i hadn’t put much. and i’ve had lots of thoughts about running marathons. i LOVE them. i love pushing myself. i love being at mile 8 and realizing i have almost 20 more miles to go. i love seeing a seemingly giant overpass that I must cross to get to mile 26. i love crossing the finish line. i have to say — the time doesnt’ really matter to me. BUT i’m not going to scoot along. i do like to push myself. so…i think back – i was 39 and knew i wanted to complete a marathon ON my 40th bday. i printed out a plan and i followed it. after that, i tried to ramp up my training a little and do better. i’ve run 10 marathons since then, and my times all fluctuated between 4:02 & 4:20. my resolution to all this is that i’m going back to the start. i have 10 weeks till my next marathon and i’m going to find a basic, finish-it-type plan, and i’m going to print it out and i’m going to follow it. March 30. Lafayette, Louisiana. it’s probably gonna be humid by then, y’all. but you know what? i’m gonna run anyway. i’m gonna follow my plan and just do the best i can.

last night, hubs & our daughters and hubs’ friend from out of town went to Don’s Downtown for dinner. the beautiful owner was there & i knew right away she was a great friend of my mom’s – my mom died 15 years ago & she was much loved by so many people – when Miss Brenda realized who I was, she said, “OOOOhhh, darlin'” and just hugged me like a momma would! It brought tears to my eyes last night and even now as i recollect her genuine goodness as she reflected on the time she spent with my mom. i love encounters like that.

oh, btw i have had a pinched nerve in my back for over a week. OUCH. hubs has been great. he has gotten a traiteur to come over for 3 days in a row to help me. i’ve had massages. it’s just something to manage till the darn thing decides to let go of me. i’m not a great patient, i think, because having a constant, nagging, burning pain is a constant, burning nag!!!!! i haven’t run since the 26.2 last sunday and i’m totally fine with that. my plan is to find that plan i mentioned and just jump back on the horse as soon as i can.

i’m also on an animal protein fast. 99%. i had tuna yesterday πŸ™‚ it was my birthday lunch with my sister and daughters and i went ahead and had a beautiful salad with grilled tuna…delish. i don’t have a problem with meat or animal protein, but i do know i feel better overall with the bulk of my diet being veggies and healthy grains – not bread, not pasta, not meat. that’s just me.

that’s it for now…peace, y’all…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

5 responses »

  1. Oh girl, I’m right there with you on the meat protein. I still have shrimp and salmon occasionally, though. I would love to let go of bread; pasta is not a big deal. Congrats on your marathon!!!! I’ll run one….someday. Right now I’m content with the half marathons. I’ve got another one in April. Loved your encounter with one of your mom’s friends. Take care and we’ll talk again soon! ~Laurie

  2. So happy to read your post. So inspiring! I am currently following a half-marathon plan and love training and knowing how many miles to run each day and which days to rest and also it challenges me to push myself a little more than I normally would. I would love to run a marathon at some point. I love the idea of running on your 40th birthday…I may try that one! Im 38.
    The story of your moms friend was so sweet and heartfelt. Boy, God has a way of just loving on His girls. My son is having another colonoscopy tom…hasn’t had one in 2 years (has had many previously) but some labs didn’t come back so well so he will go under anesthia tom for that procedure. Prayers please,his name is Christian! Thanks and take care

    • Thanks, Laurie!!!! This has been easier than I thought! I am allowing myself a cheat meal, which last week consisted of $5 burger night in our neighborhood. Plus, a free glass of wine? And it’s a good wine! Count me in! πŸ™‚ You are doing so awesome with your running!!!! I LOVE reading your blog!

  3. Thanks, Melissa!!!! I prayed your sweet boy up! I read your comment, but I’m just now replying. Please know that he has been in my prayers. And may I say, his name is just beautiful πŸ™‚ I hope all went well for him, bless his heart. Oh, you can totally get to a marathon distance by the time you are 40! I tossed the idea around when I was 38 and then committed to the idea when I was 39, and found a good training plan, which, as you know, can take several months! Yes, God does love His girls! I love that! Really gives a Father-figure notion about God, which, after all, He is, right?! I love it. Alright, my friend, take care & keep on keepin’ on! How ’bout that ice storm coming to South Louisiana??? My 8th grader doesn’t have school for 2 days, so naturally, my homeschooled 7th grader is playing the “snow day” card. Sigh :)))

    • Thanks so much for the prayers! We (my husband and I)could feel the prayers today..u know when u have peace but cant explain it! amazing grace! Thanks for covering my son in prayer. He did amazing-so brave and he just loved all the attention from the nurses and everyone! The results from the colonoscopy came back great! The doctor took 3 biopsies and we should get the results on Friday.
      Yes, possible snow! WHAT! The grocery stores look just like they do when a hurricane is approaching-CRAZY CROWDED! LOL. I know my homeschool boys said, “Hey mom we should get off on snow day tom and wed because all of our friends have off from their school
      .” I will most likely give them off tom not so much because of the snow but just because I’m tired and could a rest day. Just the build up leading up to today with Christian has left my neck and shoulders a little tense- it seems that is where stress likes to lay its ugly head on me! Thanks again for the prayers!

Leave a Reply

