overload. well, not really. just too dang long.

Standard

I hate when I let so much time go by between posts. I never remember all that I intended to post about, and a lot of what I do remember seems to have lost it’s luster. typically, I start at the here&now and work backwards. DREARY day in South Louisiana. as my mom used to say, “I wish it would just rain & turn cold.” Because waiting for a cool front in South La is like waiting for a hurricane. the air is THICK. you can almost see the dampness. everything seems to be draped in grey heaviness.

little one. sigh. my little one. she has an extreme overabundance of copper in her little body, we found out yesterday. so, we are starting her new supplements to rid her of that. problem is, her new pills caused her a severe stomach ache and long story short, she is sleeping. it is a school day. kids get sick. I get that. I feel awful for her. we managed to get through Religion this morning before her stomach pains began. Right at the end of watching a short documentary about Juan Diego – we learned so much – bam! Raman noodles did little to assuage her pain, poor little lamb.

problem is, Monday was a holiday. why on earth we celebrate Columbus i’ll never know. seems like it would be Vespucci day. or how about the first person to “discover” the new world who was NOT mean to the natives? There’s an idea! anywho.

so Monday was out. Tuesday & Wednesday were better. we managed to get a lot of work done in the morning. that’s the thing with my daughter – we can cover lots of material in a short amount of time, especially English. based on my punctuation and sentence structure, it would be difficult for most people to believe I LOVE English. or should I say ‘I lumme some English.’ heehee. this is my blog and I shall do with it as I damn well please. there. 🙂

I was going to do a blog entry and entitle it “A Tale of Two Jeffs” and perhaps I may still do that. jeff Galloway got on my last nerve. it wasn’t all him. trying to carve out time to do the training to qualify for boston, combined with the heat of south Louisiana, combined with the treadmill remarks of a certain someone (treadmill just pulls you along…doesn’t really count). doesn’t really count, expletive, expletive???? really? get your a$$ on there and press 8. then 9. cuz when I do it, if I don’t run my a$$ off, I would be flying off the back of that sucker. so, sorry, I happen to know it does count. still, timewise, I just don’t know how that’s going to workout.

in the interim, I signed up for a runkeeper app training program for a sub-4:00 marathon. jeff gaudette I think is the dude’s name who heads up that program. I like it. each day is laid out very clearly. he breaks up the long runs over two days. for instance, this week’s long run is 15 miles – 4/11 on back to back days. I like that. I have marathons 9, 10, and 11 on tap for 2014. I know I can complete them. 9 is the one that I would like to qualify for boston. i’m doing the speed work & interval training as directed. the long runs have gotten a lot fast from Galloway’s plan. the new jeff (gaudette) has my long run pace at 9:20-9:40. daaaaaaammmmmmnnnnn. I did 10 miles on my treadmill last Saturday. I rewarded myself with a two-lap walk at the end. I couldn’t figure out why that was such a tough run. then I realized that the Galloway long run pace for me was 10:50!!!! makes sense! I was pretty proud for getting 10 on the treadmill done! after that, I quickly got ready, grabbed up my daughters and headed straight to lunch at Acme Burger for a tree-hugger burger (organic, grass-fed meat, multi-grain bun), homemade chips and an ice cold coors light :). yum!!! okay, I guess that is it for now.

peace, y’all!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. The sun will come out tomorrow! I hope! I am right there with u girl- over here in Nawlins waiting for the SUN TO SHINE and have some cooler air..come on already huh! LOL. Sounds like you are doing well and prayers for your daughter. My youngest son has colitis and he also sees a natural doctor and his GI doc and he also is on a some supplements (lots) to help rid metals from his body and so on…and other supplmnts for other things. But anyway , always happy to c when u post and it is always a delight to read (*-*)

    • Hey, girl!!! I know, right?!!! Come on SUNSHINE & cool weather! Just a reduction in humidity would be a welcomed change…yesterday afternoon I had to run out for a couple of errands and was so pleasantly surprised to discover the breeze had arrived!!!! This morning is even better! Thanks for the prayers. She’s seemingly back to her old self – awake, slightly grouchy, trying on clothes as she considers the weekend 🙂 Bless your son’s heart – colitis can’t be a fun thing to deal with. I hope this nice weather has reached you by now! Thank you for your kindness!

Leave a Reply

