Today.

Standard

Today I ran…even though it was midday…in South Louisiana…and even though…
I didn’t feel like it
And I told myself the meanest things I could think of,
Things I would never, ever tell another person.
With each heavy step, I interiorly knew
I was better than the insults…way better.
I didn’t even care that my upper lip was sweating before I had reached the half-mile point.
Nothing was moving out there today, except me and a couple of cars…not even the pickle-green stagnating water
I pass regularly.
And I didn’t care.
It was a matter of principal…or principle. Hmm.
I ran because God gave me strong legs and endurance.
I ran because my father in law is dying and there is nothing I can do about it…except maybe not waste my life, abilities, and gifts.
I ran because last night was parent’s night at my daughter’s school and as I went to find a seat, I saw my old schoolmate from 6th grade…his wife, his beautiful wife with crystal blue eyes and the face of an angel is in a wheelchair. She will never leave it.
I ran because this morning, someone I am so fond of, a new mother, was hooked up to a machine, receiving chemotherapy and she is such a shining example of God’s grace.
So, yeah, I ran today.
And I prayed. For everyone I could think of…the people I love, the people I don’t; the ones who make me mad, the ones who don’t even know they are part of my prayer life…
And I thanked God for His beautiful
mercy.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. Beautifully written. My husband is doing an Ironman tomorrow. I’m already fretting about the 90 degree temps that I’ll have to stand in to watch. But then I stop and think….what do I have to complain about. He will experience more pain than me. Bottom line, someone else always has it worse. And I’ll join you and say prayers, many prayers.

    • Hey, Laurie!!! Thank you so much! I sent out some prayers & positive energy on your husband’s behalf this morning! I hope you post about his race. Ironman is the Mac-Daddy of ’em all! Wow! That’s an amazing feat! I hope it wasn’t too hot – that’s not fun for anyone – participants or bystanders…thank you for praying! Prayer is a beautiful, powerful tool. I wish more people would avail themselves of it…”talk” to you soon!

Leave a Reply

