Buy the dress

Standard

Ok – here goes – I’m homeschooling 7th grader – we had to leave the house in order to do some things to prepare for the inevitable death of my father-in-law. I didn’t really have any funeral-appropriate clothes in my closet. Not to be the daughter in law anyway…so, I have a credit card at ann Taylor. (Btw no glasses tonight + a 55 minute run; forgive me). Anywho. Me and little one dash in. She, typical, floats to a rack, pulls out a dress & tells me, “mom, this is perfect.” Which it was. But I had to try on other dresses first. And endure her theatrics trying on jewelry & headwear & sunglasses & carrying on very decadent conversations with males associated with dance moms. WTH. I loved it. She’s awesome. I digress. So, I decide on the very basic black dress, not plunging neckline, and talk myself into it – hubs doesn’t like me
In sleeveless, but I do, so the hell with it. I’m getting it. I told my daughter the situation…”guess I better do a bunch of push-ups before granddaddy dies…” I mean, what are the parameters here??? As set by hubs?? No sleeves, no boobs…I’m having visions of those cult girls who made their own pastel prairie dresses. Sigh.

I’m in line; I’m getting the simple black dress, size 2 – I’m not Aunt Bea for goodness sake… And then I see it –
The same dress except in a very cool leopard print. I grabbed it. Didn’t even try it on. Mg daughter looked at me quizzically – “Sometimes you just gotta buy the dress.”

Simple as that. I tried it after I ran and showered – perfection!!!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

