mishmash

Standard

2nd day of school. like, now. I’m in the class; little one is languishing in bed. We went to the doctor yesterday. No strep. Just a big runny nose and burning throat. If there is still pain tomorrow…TOMORROW??…I can call the doc back and she will call in a prescription. sigh…oh, lord.

did you know if you stick a huge handful of spinach into your smoothie that you get the glorious benefits of raw spinach and it doesn’t change the taste of your smoothie AT ALL?? I didn’t say anything about the color – your smoothie will be a lovely green hue. This morning, I ventured outside my smoothie comfort zone and made my smoothie with pineapple, vanilla almond milk, my usual vegan organic rice protein mix, a third of a banana, healthy drizzle of honey and a big handful of spinach. I kid you not, it tasted like dessert/desert. I NEVER spell it right :-]

I did my first day of T25 yesterday. nailed it. heehee. I feel like doing day 2 right now as baby languishes, but I drank my smoothie and a huge glass of water. my stomach is pretty darn full.

Neville had his dew claw taken out yesterday. Poor fella. Now he’s taking pain meds. I seriously stop in my steps to watch his stomach move in order to make sure he’s breathing. “may cause sedation” ya think? 🙂

lovely august weather. dude. i’m seriously signed up for the Cajun man tri. my bike probably has flats. I am so woefully unprepared at the moment. I don’t know if i’m up for it. I paid my $, so normally, there is no discussion. I pay, I race. plain & simple. this summer was just busy. yes, I managed to get my runs in, mainly because the girls had outdoor soccer lessons 4 days a week. so, running is fine; biking & swimming…mmmmm, notsomuch. we’ll see. last year’s race was a disaster; my first no-show. I hated myself. I baled due to girl-related reasons. let’s leave it at that. I guess another way to look at it is, it’s a 2 hour workout on a Sunday morning. and it IS good to push ourselves outside of our comfort zone. sigh. I know I CAN do it; just not sure if I WANT to do it. of course, i’m still trying to shake off the 3 pounds of Boston weight I gained a couple of weeks ago. it was the perfect storm – no workouts, lots of eating out & indulging in drinks & dessert…it was fun! now i’m paying!

I ran my cadence workout last night for :30. that was good. I took off sunday; i’m trying to follow Jeff Galloway and he definitely believes in rest days. Saturday evening I ran my marathon pace run outside. that was just FUN. Jeff incorporates walk breaks every 4 minutes in my case, so after a :45 walk break, I would run at marathon pace…I thought I was doing really well. then after I got home, and saw my mile splits, they were 8:10, 9:01, 8:41, 9:03, 8:57 and 9:57. Not bad, but not very consistent. That’s okay. I’m in the ballpark and it was a little warm out, too! It’s August in South Louisiana. :)My pace should be about 8:55…

Okay, peace out.

20130813-133426.jpg

20130813-133443.jpg

20130813-133509.jpg

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

