Where do I start??? :)

Standard

Well, summer is here!!!! Thank You, Jesus. We are LOVING it. My 7th grader received the Math award for her grade & we could not be prouder of her. She is an amazing person, in all ways, but to me, her heart for Jesus is what truly takes my breath away. We got our 6th grader’s Stanford scores & were BLOWN AWAY. Some of her scores TRIPLED, even as she was compared to other Catholic school children! Amazing. Quickly, within a couple of days, I told hubs that originally I wanted the scores to show the Academy that she is smart and deserves to be there. But after praying on it, I realized that her scores improved because of what WE did. Why mess with that? So we aren’t going to! We are going to homeschool again next school year! Yay! SOOO grateful for the chance to continue what we have started. And now, with a year under our belts, I know what I will tweak/do differently, etc. Sigh. Relief. Good things. Even Science went way up!!!! What??? That’s what I was worried about! I guess we did okay!

Insanity – has started. That is some crazy, crazy workout, y’all! I am not kidding. And it is GOOD!!! I can definitely see how it will improve my fitness and dare I say it, get me a little closer to Boston! Oh, BTW, I didn’t get into to NYC. Boo. But, I did speak to someone at NYRR and I am indeed assured a spot in the 2014 NYC 26.2 due to this year being my 3rd consecutive year of denial. So, that’s super-cool. And I will be able to plan accordingly. And NYC in early November? Are you kidding me??? GAW-GEOUS!!!! Can’t wait! Anyway, yesterday was my first off-day for Insanity – I took it. I have been running along with the program – happy about that – I thought it was kind of frowned upon. But, I read somewhere that Insanity + Running = totally cool if you can do it. The run just makes me happy. I don’t care if I am lumbering along with tree trunk quads, I just need that fix at some point once every 24 hours. South Louisiana summers are beautiful; they are hot & sticky, usually, but some days/evenings suprise me & that’s what I just don’t wanna miss out on. But, yeah, yesterday, I took the whole day off of anything physical – aside from what moms do physically anyway, which is a LOT, but I am digressing again – me & hubs took our daughters to a “double feature” – 42 & Star Trek. Well, 42 was engaging & moving and thought-provoking. Star Trek – well, I would have taken a nap, except that I had consumed, a box of Milk Duds & a box of Snow Caps & TWO large WATERS BY MYSELF. I’m not proud. So, I was sugared up & making runs to the restroom. I did notice that the Star Trek dude reminded me of my son. The handsome guy, not Spock, who reminded my husband of a much-loved nephew.

Anywho. Focused on decompressing & catching up – I cleaned up my car, 2 flower beds, had a 5 mile run & Insanity this morning. I am also slowly going through some drawers & cleaning out those, too. My closet looks fab. My tupperware drawers & cabinets where I keep my beloved mixing bowls/bakeware, etc., looks great!

Okay, find a good Novena, say a Rosary, listen to a Rosary, go to Mass, be thankful. Do something to make God happy. And don’t forget to say your prayers when you are going to sleep & as soon as you wake up. If you already do, then awesome. If not, TRY, okay? Just TRY. God knows we all have struggles & doubts. But He’s still right there, you know, He doesn’t move; we do. And He loves you so much.

Peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

5 responses »

  1. Glad to hear about your sweet girls! That’s great! My kids are done for the summer, too! My daughter keeps saying, “So, when school starts in August, am I going to be in FIRST GRADE?” Um, yes, baby. “GREAT!”

    NYC? How exciting! That’ll be all about memories! Have you been there before (the city, not the marathon…)? I would love to go someday!

    I just downloaded a Kindle book about Mother Theresa (I think it’s her Life and Prayers? Something like that…) and I’m anxious to get that started. If she can’t inspire a body, I don’t imagine anyone can!

  2. Oh, my gosh, how time flies!!! First grade???! How exciting!!! Yes, we have been to NYC several times and just love it. I’m so excited for that race, especially since the guess work is taken out of it for me – I can simply count on it! Mother Theresa is my hero. Nothing but love for everyone! She was such a beacon of God’s love…I hope you are having a wonderful summer! How goes the running?

    • My running is going well. I am hoping to PR in a 5K in July (that’s my next goal) and I’m using the Train Like a Mother 5K – Own It! Plan. Those girls didn’t let me down for my half so I’m counting on them to get me a PR! What’s your next race?

  3. Hello there! It has been awhile since I have visited your blog. Just been busy with life! But grateful I have time this afternoon say HELLO FRIEND!My husband finished his college this May. I am so proud of him! now he has the task of looking for a new job! yikes! he is now qualified to be a draftsmen…certificate in AUTOCADD. Prayers for Gods perfect will. My 2 youngest sons have been busy with baseball and my oldest son with homeschool football. My oldest though is not sure he wants to continue to play. Great coaches and teammates, just realizing football may not be his love! Well, anyway, glad to hear you guys are on summer vacation…we are too! Oldest son going to 9th and middle one to 6th and baby to 4th. Glad to hear your daughters test scores were so impressive! Way to go team! It is definetly a family affair when it comes to homeschooling!We take it year by year and are homeschooling next year as well! A few changes though, my oldest will do an accredited program with ABEKA Academy and so basically I will have to mail in all test and they will send him progress reports and report cards. I am nervous about that, and anxiety can sneak in when I think to far ahead. Hubby encourages me that God’s grace will be there when the new school year starts! I am running still,but am currently doing a program on bodybuilding.com with trainer Jaime Eason (12 week trainer)..I am in week 10 and have seen some positive changes. Weights make such a difference in body shape and weight loss! I am not sure if I will repeat the last phase of the program again or try something like INSANITY. Always wanted one of those cool Insanity t-shirts,lol. (*_*) God bless and much peace to you and yours!

  4. Yay for hubs!!!! That is fantastic! What a great accomplishment! I have heard about ABEKA. I can’t wait to hear your experience with it. I know a couple of people who have used it and had good things to say about it. I would be nervous, too, but I’m sure it will be fine. Just do what we do – pray! God’s grace covers an infinite amount of things, seen and unseen! I want an Insanity shirt, too, but I just couldn’t bite the bullet & do the picture thing. But that’s okay. I’m going to reap the benefits! I took a couple of days off from it and didn’t like that, but my shoulder was ready for a break – I have never had a problem with my shoulder, but I think I had a knot in it from sleeping in a weird position…God bless you, too, my friend, and I hope summer is a peaceful break for you & yours!

Leave a Reply

