Race report!!

Standard

Opelousas Duathlon – it was yesterday morning – my you-know-what started Saturday. My daughter said it seemed like my races were cursed that way. Sigh.

Anywho. This was the second race I had done in which I had to pass by a dead body. Yes, sadly, you read correctly. First time was a half marathon with some off-road mileage – I wondered why the course changed last minute. I thought the cops were all there for us. I digress. Yesterday morning I saw the abundance of emergency vehicles. And yes, there was the pedestrian/victim who had gotten hit from behind. I said prayers for all involved. Sad.

So, the race. There was a wind warning for the morning for the area. Seriously? During a bike race? Well, the race was a 2 mile run, 16 mile bike, followed by a 2 mile run. I didn’t have any timing capabilities on me – couldn’t find my Garmin and when I saw the wind advisory, I re-thought of the race as a great workout, nothing more, which worked out great. I ran hard & did my first mile in 7:57! My next one was 8:28. Then I jumped on my bike. My splits ranged from under 3:00 per mile to 4:30’ish per mile. I finished in 1:01, a very respectable time in 14-20 mile per winds. Then the next run, I did in 8:50 & 9:10. I really wanted to shout out that it was the second day of my you-know-what!! I didn’t, of course. It was a great day, and transitions included, I finished in1:33, first in my age group!!! I was shooting for 1:30 in the best of conditions, so I was stoked about that.

The funny thing was, when my alarm went off that morning at 5:30, I briefly considered not doing the race! I was bloated; I was tired…

My daughters wished me well before they went to sleep on Saturday night and that’s what went through my head. No way was I turning slacker!!!

It’s a lot easier taking a rest day when I placed in my age group!!! I feel like I earned it.

Anywho, this is Holy Week!!!

Peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

