First weekend of Lent 2013

Standard

I’m so looking forward to having a “good Lent” this year…with all the stuff happening in our world, I find prayer, and lots of it, to be a wonderful place to dwell. My own choices I have made for Lent – praying more, reading more about my faith, fasting, being more deliberate in my choices, teaching my children more about our faith, more Rosaries – seems to be off to a good start.

I loved the conversation I overheard my husband having yesterday – he was stressing the word, “deliberate,” to someone over the phone – “Deliberate, you know? DE-liberate?” I loved that! And it’s true, especially during Lent, and I never considered that before – it really is about removing our perceived freedoms from some of the things we love, in a way that we “feel” because we WANT it, right? And it doesn’t end there. We remove it – deliberately – in order to get stronger spiritually, and build a closer relationship with our Heavenly Father.

I tell you, Lent is marathon training for the spirit!

Peace, y’all…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

3 responses »

  1. “Lent is marathon training for the spirit”..that was a great quote…You get shirts made! As always, love your post! Praying all is well with you and yours. We are fine (the hubby, 3 boys and I) and homeschool is going well too. How about for you?

  2. “Lent is marathon training for the spirit”..that was a great quote…You should get shirts made! As always, love your post! Praying all is well with you and yours. We are fine (the hubby, 3 boys and I) and homeschool is going well too. How about for you?

    • Hey, girl! Thanks!!! I do kind of like that saying šŸ™‚ It’s so TRUE! We are all good, thankYouJesus! Although, I do have my 7th grader home today. She is NEVER sick and NEVER asks to stay home, but she seems to have a pretty ugly cold starting, so that’s that. I’m happy y’all are fine. How’s the running? I thought about you the other day – we were in Barnes & Noble, and my husband picked up a Paleo Diet cookbook! It’s GREAT! Wonderful recipes & the guy is preaching to the choir, with the advice on clean eating – wholesome ingredients, hardly fooled around with, if at all! LOVE that! We made prawns wrapped with prosciutto. DElicious! Homeschool is going well. There aren’t enough hours in the day!! Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

