Friday “own it”

Standard

3 miles easy or skip it or cross train – I did 3 on the elliptical – had to get our PE class in 😉

On tap for the weekend –

Birthday party/sleepover, Mass, and 17 mile training run…and the grocery store 🙂

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. Hey there! I was wondering if you could give me some insight on how to begin a new training plan after completing the jazz half? I feel soooo very lost. I love love love following a schedule..the one i followed for the jazz half told me how many miles to run and which days to run them and the longer runs on saturdays.I absolutely loved followed it and found such a sense of accomplishment in it. Please keep in mind I am still currerntly trying to shed the last 20 pounds. At 154 now and following Paleo diet. I feel great and noticed some improvements in sleep, skin etc. I had asked about “running faster on another post and did 2 HIIT days of running and ran 6 yesterday. Im trying to come up with a schedule u know..like Monday upper body weights(following P90x dvd) and tuesday run HIIT but man Im getting overwhelmed with it all. I do love my longer run on saturdays. I think im gomna sign up for the mardi gras half in february. I love the challenge of training. Any advice u could offer would be sooo appreciated. Not sure where to go from here with running, hiit, weights etc and how to combine what with what on certain days. Any comments would be greatly appreciated..maybe even a sample schedule:)

    • Hey, Melissa!! I will respond to you more in-depth, but for now…the best cure to post-race blues is to sign up for another race!!! I know exactly how you feel!! I must always have something on the horizon! Do you get on Facebook? There is a ton of support there – Another Mother Runner being my fave. I’m not totally schooled on the Paleo Diet, but I’ve heard good things about it. I eat carbs – the amount varies with what kind of running I’m doing…a longer run means fewer veggies (especially the green ones, which I adore) and more carbs – usually my favorite Smoothie King Strawberry Shredder, almond butter & jelly on Ezekiel toast, or a sandwich & chips…or my all time favorite – nachos!! You know how food is in Louisiana – I could digress :). Also, I am 44 & I have been running consistently for over 10 years. My diet is far from perfect, but I don’t beat myself up over it – I enjoy myself – the older I get, the easier that becomes!

      Anywho, you seem really committed and really determined to get healthy & fit! That is really inspirational.

      For me, the most consistent way to stay healthy is to BE consistent – I try to get weights in 3-4 times a week – it’s a few quick repetitions – just to keep strong. Core is everything – after my first half marathon, my abs were so sore! I knew I needed to strengthens core.

      I hope I have answered your questions! I think you are doing great. Finding a new race is really fun. I bet there are loads of them in your neck of the woods.

      Alright, that’s it for now, but please give yourself a pat on the back! It sounds like running is becoming a passion for you…it’s a great one to have!!

      Peace!

Leave a Reply

