Cajun Cup review

Standard

Race day was pretty sweet, although it was really much warmer & more humid than any of us would have liked.  There were over 1,200 people, I believe.  It’s a 10K race that starts on Johnston Street, near downtown Lafayette & finishes on Jefferson.  I was hoping to have 8:15 miles.  I set my RunKeeper app to talk to me every 4 minutes.  I knew better than to expect a PR because of the heat.  It just wasn’t going to happen.  I went to sleep the night before hoping I would finish in under 50 minutes, which I did last year.  Being that a year has gone by, keeping the same pace would have been a victory for me!

I finished the first mile in 8:04.  BUT I knew there was no way I was going to keep that pace and finish the race.  The humidity was just too much for me.  As it was, I had taken off my outer shirt (the very sweet race shirt) and tossed it right as the race started – I tossed it under a restaurant sign, hoping it would be there when I came back for it after the race!

Anywho, I carried my own Gatorade in a small hand-held bottle.  I also sucked down a Peppermint Stick flavored Gu as I was walking to the start.  It was SO GOOD!!!  It tasted like a York Peppermint Patty…YUM.  I had half an almond butter & jelly sandwich and coffee when I woke up at 6:30.  So, I was fueled.  It was only 6.2 miles, after all.  I am in a constant state of hydration, so that is never an issue.

I finally got tired of hearing how off my pace I was, thanks to the RunKeeper app.  Yes, I had programmed my hopeful pace, and even cinched it up a bit, thinking I wanted to push myself and not run complacently if I could, in fact, go faster.  5K point – I was pretty peeved at myself – I was so off pace, but I was going to get there.  I didn’t want to take my headphones out because I really needed the music to motivate me.  So, I thought, well, I’m going to pick off 10 people in the second half of the race.  That’s not always easy to do – by this point, everyone, just about has settled in to where they will finish.  I was struggling to keep my own pace, but I was hopeful to finish a little stronger than the way I was presently feeling.

I managed to pick off 3 fairly easily.  After that, I just focused on pushing my quads toward the finish.  I had plenty of time to think — I wondered what would pushing beyond my comfort zone do?  I was pretty near the edge as it was, but what would a little farther be like?  I seriously didn’t think I would die out there, but I wanted to get out there a little bit.  And I did. 

I finished in 52:46, which was an 8:31 pace.  Not terrible under the conditions.  My mile splits were:  8:02, 8:27, 8:41, 8:43, 8:32, 8:24, and 7:37.  I’m totally cool with that.  I was happy I could finish with a little kick!

After all these years of racing, I still have not gotten some things down to a science, like where to put my Iphone.  I have yet to find a carrier that is accesible and easy.  So, my phone has a LifeProof case & I keep it in my top.  That seems to be the easiest!

I ended up 6th in my age group of 105. 

Now, I am going to focus on getting some speed work in each week.  I am also going to plan my longer runs.  If all goes well, I will use the Baton Rouge Beach Marathon as a training run for Houston.  I’ve done that in the past and I really liked it.  I just drove in that morning, ran & drove home.  Holding back to 10 minute miles is totally doable for me, thank God.

Alrighty then, my girl is almost finished with her Math Chapter test!

Peace, y’all…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

