working backward…

Standard

well, the house is asleep.  i’m pondering my three laps (8.3 miles to be exact) – guessing i’ll do them this evening.  running can be a sticking point in my house.  it always happens, but it’s not always the most welcomed event i throw out there. and Mass, of course, at 11.  that’s a given.  anywho. i did the 5k for my church yesterday.  the temps were WARM – 74 & lots of humidity to start.  at 8:00 a.m.!  i don’t like small-talk before a race.  i don’t do it & i don’t like to listen to it. so, i just get in a “time out” place & get into my own head.  i jumped right on the starting line & stayed with a group of about 4-5 other runners.  i’m pretty sure i was the first female over the finish line.  my time wasn’t a PR, but for the sweltering, moist condtions, i’ll take it – right under 26 minutes.  plus, my phone told me i ran my first mile at 8:00 flat & that stoked me.  anyway, it was a fun, quick run.

homeschool is amazing.  i love teaching my daughter.  we are still fine-tuning our curriculum.  i know i am not loving our social studies, so i ordered one that i do like from Seton Home School.  their site has excerpts of the book and i like it.  what we have been using thus far is actually a 7th grade curriculum, and she loves it, but we are getting bogged down.  she loves learning, but i find when we are in social studies, which is actually world history, we spend lots of time on the computer looking at things that she is curious about.  i don’t want to thwart that by any means, but we need to make some progress.  Seton is set out in an easier format.  i have also started using their reading program.  there are books with short stories, a “thinking skills” workbook and a “comprehension” workbook and i like that.  i thought, originally, that we would use novels as our reading course, but that is not giving her everything i want her to have, so we are tweaking!  we are, however, toward the end of “Fever, 1793” and we are LOVING it.  historical fiction is one of our faves.  plus, i want to get through it so that we can read something new.  so, we are going to use Fever as “outside reading” and then that will cover what i intend.  she is rocking through 6th grade math!  and english.  forget about my lack of proper punctuation or capitalization.  that is only on my blog, y’all.  promise! 🙂  and speaking of writing…she is on week 6 of Time4Writing.  i LOVE this – online, real teacher feedback extremely quickly – i am already looking for the course that she will do after this 8-week course is complete.  really a treasure trove – i currently have my daughter in the ‘essay writng’ course and it has been great.

other life – well, aside from school & running, there is not much time!  my wonderful housekeeper is out for a week, so that makes life’s plates in the air multiplied, sadly!  soccer, lost dog – this is crazy – my sweet son called me from college on thursday evening to tell me he lost his dog.  our dog.  neville.  long story short – little sleep, lots of tears, placed ads, hubs had 100 posters printed – we picked up 7th grader from school early, drover over to baton rouge to start putting up posters – our daughters had placed a couple of posters in the windows (very tinted windows) of my vehicle – can you believe that while we were stuck in traffic while driving onto campus, a guy on the sidewalk saw our poster, recognized the dog as the one his friend had picked up the night before & called his friend????  thank You, God!!!!  we didn’t know it at the moment.  our daughter said, “that guy looked at the poster & pulled out his cell phone!”  me & hubs looked at each other like, “right!” sure!”  but it was true!  anyway, about 45 minutes later, while i was trying to add staples to our staple gun, we got a call & our sweet Neville was about a half-mile from where we were that very moment!  what a great ending!  my son was just beside himself – he had taken Neville’s collar off of him, so the poor dog was out and completely unidentifiable – i’m glad that’s over.

he’s snoozing in our backyard as i type…neville, not my son, heehee…

okay, so i’m alive & well & hope all of you are, too!!!!

i hope & pray all my running friends are killing their workouts & have a race on the calendar!!!!  my next one is the cajun cup 10K…last year my goal was to get under 50 minutes & i did.  with another year passing, that remains my goal.  it’ll happen.  i have about a month until.

peace, y’all.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

