You CAN get there from here.

Standard

Where?  Why, Heaven, of course!  Bear with me, all sinners.  That includes me, you, and everyone alive & breathing on God’s green Earth.  For reals, yo.  The coconut is full today.  First of all, God will take you JUST LIKE YOU ARE.  Just invite Him into your life.  You don’t even have to make a change…just tell Him you are ready to accept Him through His beautiful Son, Our Lord Jesus Christ.  You don’t have to make a change, but things…well, they’ll be a-changin’, so get ready y’all who take the plunge.  And it’s goooooood stuff, too.  So, yes, you CAN get to Heaven from here.  But you have to do the work.  It’s easy bein’ a sinner, ain’t it?  Just stop caring.  Do what feeeeeeeels good, dude.  teehee.

Here’s what I was thinking about this morning, in a quiet house being beautifully drenched in rain…I was a huge sinner.  Abysmally bad.  Without airing my dirty duds, let’s just say, I was a teenager without guidance.  My big sister said to me, point-blank, “You need Jesus in your life, girl.”  I can still remember the horrible queasy feeling inside, almost 30 years ago – it was as if a snake recoiled inside me.  I was horrified that she would suggest that.  You see, I was already in the grips of someone.  But it wasn’t Jesus.  I was being fooled by the devil and the mere mention of Jesus’ name caused nausea.  I remember wanting to run out of the room.  I was just disgusted.  No happy ending yet.  Oh, no.  I didn’t need JESUS!!!!  Like, realllly?  psssh.

YEARS went by.  BAD choices went by.  HATE went by.  INDIFFERENCE went by.  SELF-LOATHING went by.  my LIFE went by.  i was swayed by everything that seemed bad.  i simply didn’t care about myself.  my mom had turned into an alcoholic between 5 & 9, and then she turned into a zombie for the rest of the night thanks to valium swallowed in a mouthful of ten high.  no one was minding the store, y’all.  it was bad.

God can use bad situations and wring them out & when He shakes them out, there is something beautiful and different.  That was MY life.  Little by little, even through the right-side-of-the-curve-of-bad-choices, He was leading me out of the mine field of a life i had created for myself.  with the help of the devil himself.

NOW.  my life is GOOD.  MY LIFE HAS MEANING.  I LOVE MYSELF.  I LOVE THE PEOPLE CLOSE TO ME.  I LOVE GOD MOST OF ALL AND DESIRE TO PLEASE HIM IN ALL THAT I DO.  I turn to my family in Heaven, who is ALWAYS ready to help.

It pains me to see people surrounded by the self-created hell.  I know I will never live there again.  I know I have a place in Heaven.  Once you get a taste of something THIS GOOD, you won’t let it go.  GOD is minding MY STORE NOW.  i am just the apprentice.  i just want to make Him happy….

I am so glad I found THE WAY.

Peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. This is a great post! Sometimes, though, I think non-Christians expect Christians to be PERFECT – all.the.time! That’s just not true! Even after we become believers we all, (I mean every single one of us) continue to sin on so many levels it’s shameful. The difference is that we can seek forgiveness and know that – with true contrition – it will ALWAYS be given. Even me. Even you. Even anyone else reading your wonderfully true words.

    PS – I know you’re starting to homeschool this year. Go visit Esther over at http://www.laughwithusblog.com – she’s giving away a copy of a fictional, humorous book about homeschooling. She’s a great Christian woman who finds the funny in EVERYTHING. (The post is dated 8/11/2012)

    • Oh, thanks for the kind words & resource! I will definitely check it out!!! I know what you mean. I believed that, too, for a long time – as if there was a line drawn in the sand: sinners over there & everyone else WHO CAN NEVER SIN AGAIN over here;)))) I think that’s why I try to be so transparent about myself – I am a work in progress like everyone…i now have a real Parental relationship with God – He is the first to get my attention when I get off-track, just like a good parent does!!! Hugs to you!!

Leave a Reply

