less power…not powerless ;)

Standard

yesterday was long & busy.  i don’t do well sitting in one place for very long & yesterday, that’s mostly what i did.  i managed to get a quick late run in right at dusk, which was a beautiful surprise, expecially with my daughter on her bike beside me.

today…i knew i’d wanna jump on my bike.   i knew i’d wanna take tomorrow off because on Sunday morning, i’m running a trail 5K at my daughter’s school.  i always take off the day before a race, big race or small race.  just a good idea, i think.

got on my bike & wasn’t feeling the power surge i normally feel.  i had fuel in the tank – strawberry/banana smoothie made by yours truly…hmmmm….wazzup?  i cut myself the slack that i obviously needed & decided just to enjoy my planned ride, no pressure to stay close to 20mph.  i managed 20 miles, but it took me 1:20, just shy of 15 mph.  then i ran. 3 & 1/2 miles at 10+ pace.  i’m not sad.  i’m not disappointed.  i’m fine.  i got a great, BIG exercise in that i’ve wanted to do for a couple of weeks.  i haven’t done back to back workouts in a good while, so i was pretty happy to go through the paces.  it felt good.  i enjoyed myself.  and now? shower!  and another smoothie!

oh, can we talk?  my * arrived a WEEK LATE!  so, yeah, that’s always a factor, i don’t care what anyone says.  it’s a factor for ME!

and, since i’m going down the more-information-than-you-care-to-know-lane, leave this post unless you have the same, sometimes off-color humor as me.  i’ll wait…k, so it’s just us, right????

during that quick run last night, i ran with hand weights.  when we got to the furthest point of my run, i had an urge to PURGE.  i told my daughter, “i need a bathroom.”  she retorted, “ME TOO!!!”  “Think we can make it back to the house?”  “Maybe we should find a tree?!”  “No, that would not be cool.”  we trudged on & raced each other into the house to take care of…business…hubs asked how my run was & i told him, “great.  but if i had known the load i was carrying in my lower intestines, i never would have carried hand-weights.”  the look on his face?  oh, it was great.  so glad i shared that with him…he did laugh, by the way; after all, we both have a pretty weird sense of humor!

k.  friday is here.  i have promised s’mores for the evening.  i have to make dinner ahead for sunday…lasagna, i’m thinking?  conge’ fundraiser at my daughter’s school on sunday & that’s an all day, very fun day that we will not miss!  means Mass Saturday…

peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. You crack me up! I think having your * makes a HUGE difference in what your body can (or wants to) do.

    Lasagna is a GREAT make ahead meal! I have a recipe for a great one that doesn’t even require you to boil the noodles! E-mail me if you want it! I make it for everyone when they have a new baby (one lady told me she was considering having another baby just so I would make her one! LOL!). email: longdazeshortyears AT zoominternet DOT net

Leave a Reply

