upnote…

Standard

This Christmas break is definitely finishing on a beautiful, positive note.  Today is the last day of break and we made the most of it, my girlies & me!  I have vowed this year to get more blogger-savvy…I totally want to post pictures.  I have before and it pretty much causes me a brain cramp.  I shall work on it.  Anywho, we had a freeze overnight – unusual in South Louisiana.  That’s one of the reasons I LOVE January around here.  I love bitter, rainy cold.  Today was just beautiful sky from one end to the other.  Me and my daughters bundled up and headed to the gate, my basic 2.8 mile loop, once again.

I know I have not been sticking to my Hal plan.  I am somewhat regretful about that, but I have not slacked in fitness or nutrition, to be sure.  So, I have grabbed my miles when and where I can and I must say that the best miles grabbed over the holiday have included seeing my daughters riding their scooters next to me as I run.  Their scooters are NOISY, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  They are my biggest cheerleaders and I will miss them when I run in the morning.  My 11 year old suggested we get up at 4:30 so that they can accompany on my run before school!  Seriously?  What a little fitness chick I am raising!  I love it!  I gently declined the offer, pointing out that with the first day back, they will be tired and need all the rest they can get! 🙂  Still, that just gets me.  I adore those girls.

So, the run this morning was quick and fast.  I have definitely made up for speed work with my daughters accompanying me.

We wanted to make the most of our last day together before school starts, and their idea was to go to Red’s (Red Lerille’s Health Club is totally the best health club in the world…in my opinion;)…We had a lot of fun working out/playing.  I enjoyed teaching them about weights & proper form & so on.  Today was definitely an A plus day.  The sprinkles on the cupcake?  We had just gotten home and my youngest daughter stopped in the doorway and said, “Thank you for today, Mom!  I had so much fun with you!”  I melted.  How sweet is that?  I was immediately in gratitude mode, realizing that my good, healthy, life-affirming choices has helped us have a better life together and that I was passing on good, healthy habits to my daughters, who I cherish so much.

We had a fun dash late yesterday afternoon, as well…it was my quickest lap ever – 2.8 miles in 22:15 seconds!  Now that was fun, y’all!

So, here we are, another really cold Louisiana evening.  I am cooking a gumbo as I type, and listening to my daughters negotiate the final pieces of clothing to be divided between their two bedrooms.  Until Christmas, they shared a room.  Now, one of my daughters has made the move upstairs into a bright, cheerful room…both rooms reflect my daughters’ personalities.

I am excited about this new year.  Life is changing and we must change with it.  Last year at this time, I was a little sad at the prospect of my beautiful son leaving the nest at the end of his senior year.  Everything I was sad about came to be, and I accepted it all with the help of God.  This morning, I got a text from said son, having a blast in Colorado, skiing with one of his fraternity brothers.  I will continue to keep my eyes on God and do His will.

Peace, y’all!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

