after the 20

Standard

well, it was better than i thought…mostly.  i was able to maintain 9:30 & under for the first 10.  i was not pain-free, by any means, but it wasn’t an “uh-oh” pain, it truly just felt like i was finally in good for me shoes & my legs & feet were still a little pissed off.  for the next 10, while i was able to hover around 9:00 per mile, i was not able to maintain 8:34 for long stretches – long enough to count where it counts – for the long run.  that’s okay.  cuz i started & i finished and i gave God all the glory and i rejoiced in my ability and in His faith in me.  i was hoping for more, but thrilled with the outcome.  i’m not down for the count yet.  i have another couple of pretty long runs so i’m going to take extra-good care of myself in the interim & see what happens.  i really feel like the shoes will help a LOT.  after the run?  I was SORE.  went straight to the pool with a bottle of sparkling water.  took a shower & had a great hamburger/fries/beer with my son.  went straight home & put my legs up till it was time to plug back into mommy-hood when school let out.  today, i can tell i ran far & hard, and i relish in the aches.  i can’t help it.  i think a little pain helps us know we are alive.  we are human.  we push.  we struggle.  we rage.  we hurt.  makes me feel alive.  i love that.  i really love that.  peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

