don’t hate me, hal.

Standard

wow.  some days are just full of surprises!  you already know that last, last weekend was jacked around – no running whatsoever – made for a very running week last week! saturday past was XT with my step son – bike riding – sunday was 4 miles on tm – fast.  yesterday was 7.  today.  was going to be…something…i wasn’t sure – i was contemplating the following before i made my decision:

hubs was standing in kitchen about to go to work.  i needed a feel for his day so i could get a feel for my day – running-wise…

tomorrow is doctor appt for little one – early – will chunk into morning, no doubt. no biggie.

thur – doctor appt for me mid-morning – that day is screwed for the long run, yes?

friday – mandatory rest day cuz cajun cup is saturday morning & i’m not messing around with my legs the day before a race, come hal or high water~heehee…seriously, folks.

so, hubs says:  i’ll be in depositions today.  huh???  say what, honkey?  depositions????  that means you’ll be busy, right?  (which means my phone will remain pretty quiet for a couple of hours.)  i guess it would be a good day for my LONG RUN…yes, he concurs, it probably would…kiss, kiss, bye.  i spin around & look at the cat – he sees the craziness in my eyes that no one ever sees!!!!  MOVE, ROBIE!  i was still in my jammies at this point cuz the weather is nutso & well, i didn’t know what in the hell i would be doing today.

i got my 15, y’all!!!!  yes, i did!  i’m pretty stoked about that!  my long run is done.  sorry, hal.  i know it’s all outta wack & disorder is the order of the day sometimes, but you know, i got that run done. 

i even had a potential interruption – in the form of one of my favorite people on the planet – my son.  he was in town & i thought we’d have lunch.  he wanted to eat early.  i was still pounding it out on the asphalt.  i realized, i couldn’t get there without getting there – there are no shortcuts in a 15 mile run.  you can’t jump to 12, 13 or 14…you gotta lift those feet & pump those arms every step of the fricking way.  that’s it.  very basic.  i was heartfully disappointed that i wasn’t going to see my son, but at the same time, i thought, i was 5-6 miles away from finishing; he could have waited.  this run was important to me and to my training.  he knows what i am putting into this round of training.  he’s very independent, which is good, but still leaves me missing him & wanting to hug & make the sign of the cross on his forhead one more time before he heads back to college.  well…God knows.  my son knows, for that matter.  and here i sit, with my badass mother runner shirt on – yes, it’s true.  i’m gonna go make a tuna fish sandwich & finish undecorating halloween stuff…

peace, y’all.  make sure your loved ones KNOW they are loved.  tell them.  show them.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

