crown jewels…

Standard

i’m a running mom with a rough week.  busy weekend past meant no running OR cross-training on Saturday or Sunday.  that meant 5 full days of these miles:  7 pace, 4, 7, 4, 14. no rest for the weary.  got my 7 pace miles on the treadmill because 6th grader was home SICK on Halloween throwing up & well…you know…it wasn’t pretty.  poor baby.  she had a miraculous recovery as the witching hour of 6 p.m. approached.  then we had her birthday.  this weekend we have a party for both girls, including a smallish sleepover – each was allowed to invite 4 girls 🙂 and it’s Father-Daughter Dance tonight, Homecoming football game for my step-son, and of course, Homecoming dance tomorrow night for him, as well, and then my sweet college boy is driving tonight with his frat to watch LSU kick some Alabama bootie.  All this seems to kind of squeeze out the miles from the picture, no?  BUT I MANAGED!  Cuz I wanted it.  Bad enough to squeeze them in however I could.  Bad enough to run with too many “miniature” candy bars cruising through my system, too many bad carbs wreaking havoc on my body and then, BAM, IIIIiiii’mmmmm bllllloooooooated!  Huh?  Oh, yes, thank you for visiting, mother nature.  All this stuff happening during the longest week of running I think I’ve ever had.  36 miles. 

so, the long run.  The crown jewels of a marathon training program.  Don’t mess with those miles.  Come on, you can sneak 4 or 5 miles in here & there, but 14 miles???  That takes planning, people.  the long runs can’ t be jerked around.  they must be treated delicately.  thoughtfully.  can’t go out too strong, gotta save some in the tank to finish.  don’t wanna finish walking, do ya?  I check the weather for the week, I check EVERYONE”S schedule for the week.  Normally, I pick the coolest day of the week I can find to make it more pleasurable.  And if rain is called for, that’s even better.  I don’t melt.  And talk about a serene run.  In the rain, that is.  Just the sound of the drops & my feet.  Very few cars.  No golfers.  Surely no runners or bikers.  Love it.  I prepare bottles of hydration the night before, I calculate how many laps I need to complete said long run and work it out in my brain where those miles will be run in my neighborhood – today – nice – 14.  that equates to 5 laps to the gate.  2.8X5=14.  the aforementioned made for a bumpy start to the 14 miles.  hubs had just left for work, feeling queesy.  i, feeling codependent, felt a little guilty about running and being so darn happy about it.  one lap.  click.  pause.  potty break.  hey, i never said it was gonna be pretty.  that’s why i like to run in my neighborhood.  🙂  back out to get those other 4 laps.  i pressed the wrong button on my run keeper & “finished” & saved the darn run!!!  huh?  wait, go back!  couldn’t.  good thing was I knew i had 5 laps to do & that’s what i did, darn my fumble fingers.  got them done.  felt good.  strong.

now i gotta get busy doing real things.  corsages for dance.  clean the car.  laundry.  move the bed out of the way for Wii Dance Party 3 to be played by a bunch of sweet little girls. 

Thank you Jesus, for this day, and the for the ability to do what I do.  Please continue to bless me abundantly and help me live according to Your will.  Let me reflect You.  Holy Spirit, take me over and let me come along for the ride. 

Surrender.  Peace, y’all.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. Good for you for getting it done, potty breaks and fumble fingers included!

    It’s amazing how much planning goes into doing something that other people (read: not moms) can do without even thinking, isn’t it! Sometimes I have to plan just to be able to brush my teeth! 😉

Leave a Reply

