Harvest Apple Pie!!!! :))))

Standard

So, here it is…yum.  Just make it.  And serve it with vanilla ice cream. 

Pastry for 2-crust (9 inch) pie

6 medium apples, peeled, cored & sliced

1 Tablespoon cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons butter, melted

1 teaspoon gorund cinnamon

3 tablespoons sugar

1/3 cup light corn syrup

1/2 light brown sugar

3 tablespoons light corn syrup

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I use pecans)

2 tablespoons flour

2 tablespoons butter, softened

Fill pastry-lined 9-inch pie pan with apples.  Combine next 6 ingredients adn pour over apples.  Cover with top crust and bake at 425F for 30-45 minutes.  While the pie is baking, combine the rest of the ingredients and spread over crust toward the end of baking (I just check it and add this when the crust is browning).  Note for topping – as the topping warms up, it gets easier to spread on top of pie.  The recipe says to put the pie back in the oven, but I don’t.  I think it makes the topping too runny…

Enjoy!!!!!!  Oh, and as for apples for baking?  I experiment with all kinds of varieties.  I always buy organic just cuz i think they taste like apples did when i was a little kid…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

One response »

  1. I’m making apple pie today. I’m not sure if I have any nuts…and I’m not sure I can wait til I go grocery shopping! 😉 I’ll let you know how it turns out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

