feel the pull…

Standard

okay, weekend was spectacular.  there’s just no other way to describe it!  went to XC meet in Baton Rouge on Saturday morning – on the interstate, hubs informed me that there was an LSU game early that day – which meant there would be TONS of traffic right near where we needed to be…oh, Lord.  but, we made it with about 5 minutes to spare, so that was a good thing.  our girls’ school did great; they ran their little hearts out on a course that was hilly & rough!  then, hubs totally indulged me in going to the new Lululemon Athletica store on Highland in Baton Rouge.  super-sweet fitness stuff.  hubs bought me some really cute things.  onto Whole Foods, another one of my totally favorite places.  sushi.  kombucha.  pizza.  we brought lots of good things home!

sunday morning was my sugarman triathlon.  it was cccccold.  i was cozy in my new lulu, but had to take it off to swim…sigh…which i did way better than before.  500 meters.  yes, i’m slow, but i finished.  and i only scratched one guy.  poor dude.  he was hanging onto one of the patrol boats in the lake, trying to catch his breath.  i saw him as i went by & then he started swimming again.  that’s when i scratched him.  sorry dude.  first you get passed by a bunch of pink capped ladies who see you can’t complete the swim without stopping and then you get scratched when you finally think you can!  sorry.  the bike was so FUN!!!!  I averaged 18.8 over the 15 mile course.  my bike shoes & new pedals made all the difference.  i realized i could feel the pull as i came around the pedal motion – it’s hard to describe, but the best way i know how is do you remember as a kid you had to pump your legs to swing???  and you would build momentum with each pump??!  well, it was like that.  pedal forward & then feel the pull because you are clipped in on these pedals – your feet won’t come out till you say they’re coming out.  very cool concept.  i would get on the straightaways and really start cruising!  i passed so many people, especially in the last half.   then the run.  LOVE my run.  i averaged 8:18 miles for the 5K. 

OH – this is big.  i had an epiphany while i was running!  i realized i ‘couldn’t’ look at other runners.  i passed a lot of them.  i realized that when i looked at them, though, none of the ones i saw were happy.  there was one group that was cruising – i loved that.  they inspired me.  but a lot of the others looked like i probably looked in the swim portion!  so, i just focused on how good it felt & forged ahead.  one thing i’ve noticed about people who are competing in tris – they are all really nice – i had so many co-competitors say, ‘nice race’ or ‘good luck’ as we passed each other.  i have never seen that in road races with just running…i was really happy to see one of my friends (she was my daughters’ first teacher when they turned 3 and were able to get into the school system due to their deafness) – anyway, she is one of the people who inspired me to even try a tri!  she is a wonderful example of the love of Jesus and she always reflects that…i saw her on the running course, too, and she was very uplifting to me!  i think so much of her; she is a wonderful person. 

then, the race was done.  my quads were touchy all day.  today they are back to normal.  oh, i finished in 1:29 & i was shooting for 1:30!!!  i dashed home, hugged my family, jumped in the shower & couldn’t wait to get to Mass.  i was so anxious to get down on my knees and thank God for His help.  i never want Him to think i don’t know that it’s all Him.  He just blesses me so abundantly. 

hubs cooked a roast that tasted just like my mom’s.  i even had seconds!  and i’m not a big meat eater.

homework intermittently all afternoon and now you should see my house.  wow.  it’s totally trashed.  i don’t intend on working out today, except for swimming.  i do wanna get in the pool and do a few laps with very minimal stopping time between…gotta try to improve my swim sometime!  i was in awe of those swimmers who just put their heads down and get after it.  that was really something to see.  oh, the water?  it was green and murky.  no gators.  that’s a good thing!

i realized, too, that feeling the pull of the Holy Spirit is something we can all try to do, too.  He’ll never pull us in any direction except for one that brings us closer to God.  submitting to that is pretty easy, too.  just give it up.  tell God you can’t & He must.  (my priest said that during a homily a long time ago and i’ve always hung onto that.)  Jesus even said that His yoke is light.  and it is.  and the coolest, most unexpected thing?  when you submit, He will bless you in ways that blow.your.mind.  for me, unexpected blessings have been the understanding of my husband, who normally doesn’t dig my fitness life; giving me the energy to plow through the day and be the wife & mother He wants me to be; being able to get more done than i thought i could; being able to be stronger than i thought i was…it’s all Him & i know it. 

peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. I’m with you that God blesses us all – BUT you gotta take those blessings, hold on with both hands, and USE THEM – which is what you do with your fitness/racing/tri-atholoning (is that a word?)! Giving thanks for what you can do is awesome – miracles always start with thanksgiving (Read One Thousand Gifts – Ann Voskamp – life-changing book!). Congrats on a great race for you and your girls!

    My son has been out of running for the past few races due to his cold/cough which stinks. Hoping he’ll be up and running for the championship on 10/15!

  2. Thanks!!! I agree. I’m greedy when it comes to blessings…I don’t want to get to Heaven and find all those unopened gifts!!!! I want them NOW when I can use them fully!!! Bless your boy’s heart! Cough & cold is no fun. I’m a huge believer in gargling with plain old Listerine (tastes gross, but does kill germs) and also Bragg’s Organic Apple Cider Vinegar…mix about 3 tablespoons in with about 8 ounces water. Drink FAST. Tastes…well, there is no way to describe it, but trust me when I say it does wonders. Just drink it fast! I drink it pretty regularly. It clears out all the gunk. Nasal, etc. I haven’t forgotten about that apple pie recipe, either!!!! I’m gonna get it on here!!! :)))

Leave a Reply

