the long haul…

Standard

sometimes you are just in it.  it.  that’s so speculative, isn’t it?  depends on where you are, what you are doing, who you are with, etc.  if you saw my house…omg.  looks like…i haven’t been home for two days.  which, really, i haven’t.  i had a GREAT LONG (for me;) HAUL run yesterday – almost 6 miles.  achy, lovely-lactic-laden quads to prove it.  yes, i like endurance-driven stress.  i admit it.  now.  but yesterday’s run – that was just the best.  the heat was unforgiving, coupled with the humidity.  south louisiana, whaddya gonna do? 

so…my girls…hearing exceptionalities…whatever.  they require extra help.  i thrive in that arena, being a teacher-at-heart.  but timing is everything, right?  trying to get 2 girls, tired after a full day, studied-up for tomorrow’s…let’s see – probably 7 tests between them – that’s a long haul right there.  we got it done.  i sent them to bed feeling 85-90% good that they will do quite well on their tests.

but here’s the long haul that’s on my mind…i signed up for the sugar man – 500 meter swim (1 time plus a little more around a regular track :); 15 mile bike ride, 5K run.  10/2/11 – looking forward to it.  then, i’m doing the cajun cup 10k (6.2 miles) in mid-November; strongly planning (as in hasn’t run it by hubs) to do cajun half (13.1) in early december.  full, INAUGURAL LOUISIANA MARATHON ON JANUARY 15, 2012 (my birthday gift to myself, thank-you-very-much) .  but my mind is just a-racin’ (teehee) and i’m thinking of MORE.  which, idunno, maybe the new orleans race – could be a half, could be a whole?  i’m just feeling like filling up my racing plate – i guess fall is in the air – i KNOW the humidity has to let up at some point. 

did i tell you i changed my pedals?  got new bike shoes?  sweet.  had i known it was like THAT, i would have gotten them for the cajun tri.  tried them out wednesday – almost 23 miles.  clipped in & everything.  LOVED it.  continually checked my gears cuz it felt too easy even toward the end.  i only came home cuz hubs was home and i told him i’d see him in an hour.  (took a little longer.)

so…housekeeper is back in the house, y’all!!!!  woot-woot!!!!  yayaaaaayy!!!!!  so….technically that means, get everyone out of the house early in the morning…pick up everything (well, not everything, but a lot of stuff) off the floors, and go…on my bike, for a run, something – human propulsion – i don’t care what. 

that’s the plan.  we shall see.  plus, friday is always a witching hour for me.  the weekend looms – which is great – but workouts – must be disguised as FUN!!!  “who wants to rollerblade????”  (crickets.)  “I SAID, who wants to rollerblade????”  usually it’s the 5th grader who loves that…but, girls have cross country race followed by soccer on saturday, so i doubt anybody will be jumping up to jump into rollerblades.  that’s okay.  i’ll just jump in the pool 🙂

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

4 responses »

  1. My kids are all sick this week so that’s why my house looks like it does. At least, that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it! I admire you for getting out there in the heat. I struggle with that. Of course, I don’t have a lot of opportunities to get OUT and run but I go when I can. I’m putting out feelers to see if I think I can run a half (because I think it’s more mental than physical…). My next race is a 5K for my boys’ school. Honestly, it’s the second year for it and it’s what got me started running – I wanted to be able to do it this year. I even put off having my varicose veins treated until the week after just so I could run.

    PS Thanks for sharing your story about Mary with me. I appreciate it.

    • Oh, I hope the little ones are better soon! You are right on the money about mental versus physical. How exciting! This is wild – a 5K for MY son’s school way back when is what really got me into racing. There was one being held in the fall for his school (Our Lady of Fatima 🙂 – I had to look up on the computer to see how far that was. THEN I had to figure it out in terms of my neighborhood. THEN I had to see if I could run it! Ummm…no. Not so much. So, I skipped it that year, ran the Susan G. Komen 5K the very next spring & then I was ready for that Fall 5K, baby!!!! I remember crossing the finish line of the Susan G. Komen race & before I took another breath & saw my time, I thought, “Oh, it’s on – I can beat that.” And this runner mom was BORN! Love that you are not getting your veins done till after! I would do the same… 🙂

  2. So, for real. I did the exact.same.thing. I knew I couldn’t run it last fall so I signed up for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure this past Mother’s Day (my first race). And I crossed the line and thought, “I can go further than THAT!” I can even remember the song playing on my iPhone when I crossed (Life is a Highway – yes, I’m a dork. ;))

    • LOL! I love that song! “I’m gonna ride it all night long…” That’s a classic! Wow…so cool that we had the same experience! You can totally do a half. No doubt. 🙂 Have a great weekend! My daughters have their first cross-country meet in the morning! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

