weird…in a good way :)

Standard

4th was yesterday.  we won’t even address how many devil’s food cupcakes I ate, topped with homemade buttercream frosting.  let’s just leave it at i never wanted to throw up in a full marathon but yesterday, on my penance-run, yeah, i wanted to hurl.  bad.  i even told a passing walker this much-unneeded info.  ‘how are you?’ sputtering, ‘oh, hey, i ate too many cupcakes.  i really want to hurl.’  well, she ASKED, didn’t she???  bet she doesn’t do THAT again 🙂

anywho, today.  off-kilter – seemed like monday.  slow household – late sleepers, slow movers, i even forgot to top off my coffee…which reminds me…well, i’ll get some in a bit.  you see the time?  4:17. 

finally jumped on my bike after trip to library and target.  managed 9 miles.  i whittled my expectations down with each passing mile – 1 hour i started with.  no, too long.  too much to do.  10 miles?  well, we’ll see.  so, there, 9.  i’ll take it.  plus, y’all, the temps hovered between 100 & 102, no kidding. 

so, just having that itchy leg feeling – you know, my legs just needed a couple of miles of turnover.  i told my girls after summer homework (oh, yes), ‘mom’s gonna do a slow 2 miles on the treadmill.’  got on it.  oopsie.  punched the 5k program.  no worries.  i’ll just get off in 8 laps, right?  right???  am i right????  teehee.  okay, so, i’m doing 10:00 miles. finally, i realized in the middle of the second mile, ‘hey, this feels pretty darn good, y’all!’  my legs were heavy, but not in a dying-way.  my butt was going, ‘hey, what did i ever do to you???’ and i was liking it.  okay, let’s just finish this thing.  after all, i pressed the 5K, button right???  let’s not waste a good 5K.  so, i didn’t.  now i’m typing.  soon to go to soccer.  i changed my running clothes.  i even put my clean running skirt on inside out.  ladies, think about that.  i fixed it, laughing at myself.  hey, those skirts can get pretty tangled.  so, yeah, it has been a weird workout day, but i will take it, gladly, with both hands.  cuz, after all, God let me wake up today, let me get 12+ lovely miles in and i’m still going.

dude, where’s my coffee?  🙂

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. Good for you! I love it when I do more than I expected to just because it felt good (which is rare, but it HAS happened).

    My next 5K is tomorrow (Saturday) – wish me luck!

    • I was thinking about you last night and realized your race was this weekend! You are going to do awesome! I can’t wait to hear about it! You know the drill – hydrate, hydrate, hydrate a lot today so you will be good to go in the morning! Positive energy & prayers headed your way for a wonderful race!

Leave a Reply

