girl stuff…

Standard

today is evidently a rest day.  never planned.  but taken when…sigh…needed.  i guess i need it.  tear.  not really 🙂  seriously, i hate not having at least a friggin’ walk on the books y’all.  just before i cued up my page to add this post, i logged into runkeeper to see my totals – wwwhaattt?  may, a legitimate school month had like 46 miles all total for me.   we are toward the end of june and i’m already at 42, i think is what i read.  that’s unheard of for me.  school being out normally cuts down my activity, but i realize that my children are getting older and, thank You, Jesus, more independent…translation – less needy…i can safely jump on the treadmill or jump in the pool for a designated number of minutes and they are either doing something legal (mom-legal), or doing whatever minutes with me, which i really like best.  (normally swimming…biking – forget it…altho’ sometimes i will cross train by rollerblading with my little one who is FAST)

anywho, so, yeah, it’s that lovely time we ladies ‘cherish’. i’m tired.  i didn’t get a full night’s sleep.  my quads are on strike.  my shoulders – on the outside – are pretty much calling it a rest day by themselves.  so, that’s it.  oh, and i got my hair highlighted and it looks really good.  so, all things considered – i’m wearing this super-cute running skirt/black & hot pink top & hot pink minimalist shoes for naught.  oh, well, it’s the thought that counts, right?

however, there is a new marathon coming down the pike.  yes, ladies, mark your calendars and get down here to beautiful baton rouge louisiana.  okay i’m in broussard, louisiana, but i’m making the hour drive.  january 15 (next day is MLK day, so yeah, a holiday, right?)  the inaugural Louisiana Marathon.  it’ll be super sweet.  lots of happenings surrounding it.  clinics, etc.  i have already signed up for it and have made it my 44th birthday gift.  love it.

and the oh-so-sought-after trail marathon…november.  the day before my sweet baby turns 11.  i just can’t do it.  her b-day is on a sunday which is the very next day and i don’t want to miss her sweetness as she eagerly anticipates her birthday.  i talked myself down – 50K!  woo!  i can do it!  i’ll just drive back right after.  it’ll be good, y’all!  okay, a full trail marathon?  i’m there!  4 + hours (given the trails & hills)…okay, a half?  ppfffttt…all day long, dude.  i’ll be back when she’s finishing her donuts & milk!  forget it.  i’ll be in training mode any way.  i’ll use the cajun cup 10K as a quick morning run & call it a day, y’all.  plus, i prayed about it.  a lot.  c’mon God, help me.  it could happen, right?  you just can’t get some moments back and i’m not missing out. 

alrighty, then, that’s about it.  there’s a big salad to be made and a sweet potato to be baked for hubs dinner…peace out…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. I love the way you rationalize things – sounds just like me! I’m doing my second 5K on July 9th. I considered testing out a 10K but my mother said, “But what if it’s 90 degrees?” Oh, OK. Just a 5K this time…maybe next year I’ll shoot for a couple of 10K’s!

    Just bought a book called “Small Steps for Catholic Moms” by Danielle Bean and Elizabeth Foss. So far, I’m loving it! One page a day with a thought (Scripture or Saint quote), a prayer, and an action. Sweet.

    • 🙂 You know, I often consider getting from point A to point B, mentally, as God stepping me from what I want to do to what I should do. I get these great big plans in my mind and then, as I pray about them, each time I either unfold something that is great and, yeah, I can do this! Or, sometimes, really? Would you really do that? Mmmmm…no, guess not. But on this particular plan – the trail marathon, I anticipate doing it one of these years. I really want to do the 50K; I just know I am an ultra marathoner under all this mommy-ness. I love the mommyness; don’t get me wrong! I know there’s a time and this ain’t it…

Leave a Reply

