Camp mom…

Standard

I LOVE summer.  I LOVE kids being home.  I LOVE long days.  HOT days.  This stage of my life and of my family’s life…I’m thanking God before my eyes open in the morning and after they close at night.  He is ALL good.  He has graced us, to be sure.

We have a few things scheduled for the summer.  So far, it’s feeling very laid back and easy.  We have a lovely pool to swim in and great books to read and as of Sunday, freshly cleaned bicycles to ride. 

I signed up for a sprint tri for september.  I’ve been stalking the website for years and finally heard something in Mass on Sunday that said, “Today is the day.”  Our priest, during the Homily, asked us what we were afraid of…he tossed out lots of examples. 

Anywho, I took the great liberty of signing up & informing my family at the dinner table that evening.  “You’re going to swim?”  “Yes.”  “No.  You’re not.  You can’t swim.  You can barely make it across the pool.”  “I heard something in Mass today…I’m tired of thinking ‘what if I can’t?’  I’m ready to start thinking ‘what if I can?’ So, yes, I will swim.  I have 3 months to practice.” 

3 months to practice swimming 800 meters in open water. I know I can do it.  I know I will do it.  Maybe not so WELL, but it’ll happen to the best of my ability. 

It just seemed natural for me – I do love the water.  Unfortunately, my swimming lessons were nothing more than my BFF helping me figure out how to NOT drown in my brother’s apartment complex swimming pool. 

I have solicited, easily, the help of my fish-like daughters who adore swimming.  Turns out, I’m not terrible.  I need to build up my endurance.  In fact, my youngest daughter asked me after she saw my exhibition lap, complete with goggled-head in water, “When did you take lessons, mom?”  🙂  LOVE that. 

Anywho, that’s the idea behind camp mom…we are always busy around here…looks like we’ll crank it up a notch this summer!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

