what do moms do???

Standard

seriously?  i think it’s all a lesson in humility and putting others’ needs in front of our own…God knows i love my family to pieces and would (and do) anything in the world for any of them.  for my whole life (thank You, Jesus) i have been fortunate to be fit.  FIT.  my big sister was the biggest example to me and i will never forget her for that.  “why do you drink REAL pepsi?  Diet pepsi has NO calories.”  and so it began.  truly.  i’ll never forget it.  in her un-airconditioned, yet very cool, gold…what was that car??? oh, well, we were by Acadiana Mall, stopping for gas on the way home and that’s what she told me.  i also rode my bike alongside her as she ran, which was frequently.  she had so many track trophies, looked great, smelled great, and was MY big sister.  so, yeah, i just followed her path…after a regretful deviation, emotionally speaking, but i always followed her fitness example. 

so, now…i could ride…for friggin’ ever…and run the same…swim?  yeah, i could do it.  kids.  they change all that.  they inspire so much.  some of the things i thought i could never do i have attemped because i see my daughters-born-deaf singing in musicals, talking in front of groups, doing what their beautiful little spirits tell them to do because they are insulated from so much garbage that penetrates our world…i love that about them.  i would never have tried to run a race!!!  but i have kids.  ‘hey, mom, there’s some…i dunno, a 5kk or something…’ and there it went – my child is telling me; he must be interested…and so it began…we don’t know where the inspiration will come from, but as moms, we know it’s coming, right?  it always does.  and like our Good Lord Above, the inspiration surprises us in ways we never thought possible. 

but…for real…what DO moms do?  i squuueeezzzeee in my workouts when i can…yes, i’m slightly…SLIGHTLY…panicked for the summer.  but not obsessive about it.  i’m in good shape.  i just look at other’s mom’s blogs and think, ‘dddanng, she is a running coach, AND a mother?  AND she looks friggin’ great!’  just makes me admire them…and wonder…what do moms DO???  Peace, y’all…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

One response »

  1. YOU inspire ME – so you can definitely say that you’re “paying it forward”!! I run 10-12 miles a week and that’s because I can picture other moms (including you) doing more. And I’ll think, “What’s a measly 3 mile run? Suck it up, sister!”

    I squeeze my workouts in, too. And I’m a little panicked as well, but my Oldest Boy (8) is going to run cross country at school this year in the fall so I’ll get to spend some running time with him. THAT is going to be GREAT!

    I was never an athlete or “fit” – although I was always slim and then I met my husband…he’s a big inspiration for me as well although he doesn’t understand running “for fun”. 😉

Leave a Reply

