like a child…

Standard

Luke 18:15-17 15 Now they were bringing even infants to him that he might touch them. And when the disciples saw it, they rebuked them. 16 But Jesus called them to him, saying, “Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. 17 Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”

hey, y’all.  this part of the Bible has always comforted me, but it has also always puzzled me.  last night, i read a comment that was simple and glorious.  gave me chills.  i thought about it a lot.  for someone to take a moment out of an extremely busy world, get to the comment section, write nice words and send it…wow.  that blows my mind.  it means so much.  we’re all sinners, here.  it’s pretty easy to judge people in a harsh light while not looking at our own stuff.  that’s been my prayer for the last few months.  just let me see people the way You do, Lord.  and it happens.  i love when it happens.  it’s like seeing people through Heaven’s eyes.  so, i wanted to respond to this comment.  i could only say thank you for your kind words.  i really wanted to say, you are awesome for stopping your world long enough to say those kind words.  you are the kind of person who makes a difference when no one else might notice, but our Good Lord above most certainly does.  i know that. 

so, then i got to thinking about what i started this blog post with – i think i get it now.  when i was in my 20’s and early 30’s, i would think about these words and i couldn’t understand how adults could be like children and receive the Kingdom of God.  i get it now.  the older i get, the clearer my thinking and understanding become.  the wiser i become thanks to the grace of God.  i know i am a much simpler person now thanks to God.  i love that.  i didn’t think i ever would, but i do.  it’s as if all the junk is clearing away from my vision, from my heart, from my feelings.  i am able to see life in a much purer sense.  i still see the atrocities that are plastered all over the news.  but i don’t see bad guys.  i see sinners who don’t know the love and forgiveness of our Lord Jesus.  i think that’s what Jesus meant about receiving the Kingdom of God like a child.  get rid of the junk.  love purely.  love wholly.  and most importantly, open yourself up to God.  just submit to him.  see what happens.  it’s truly astounding what will happen.  and what you will receive is available to everyone.  everyone.  everyone.  there is nothing you can do that separates you from the love of our Lord.  i know that.  i can testify to that all day.  if He can love me, and He does, He can love anybody.  and He does.  but you gotta receive it.  make an effort.  show Him you are interested.  when i say it is all good, i mean it is ALL good.  He will give you the tools to deal with everything that comes your way – good, bad & otherwise.  your heart will continue to ache, but He will be there to get you through it. 

today is graduation day for my son.  i am so proud of him.  i bought him the Diary of Saint Faustina.  I got a copy for me, too.  wow, y’all, wow.  Jesus really worked amazingly through this lady.  check her out. 

gotta run.  didn’t run yesterday.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. Everything is so black and white for children, isn’t it? I think of this verse often when I’m at mass and the kiddos are being crazy. I think to myself, “What? I’m supposed to be insane when I stand in front of You?” Yeah. Probably not what He meant. 😉

    Because I came to the Catholic faith just a couple of years ago, I am learning a lot of the same things my kids are learning in Catholic school right along with them. It is just so…pure for them, I guess. We try to justify a lot of our own behaviors and then make excuses for others as well and kids are really all about right vs. wrong. {sigh} I think I still have a lot to learn.

    The school did something called a “Living Rosary” last week and our Youngest Boy was a part of it. It.was.beautiful. The kids lined up around the sanctuary and each started the prayer as part of the decade – our son was one of the last Hail, Mary speakers. He was so proud and he used his big voice and it was just awesome to hear.

    Congratulations to your son! That’s an accomplishment! Have a great run!

    • Hey, there! I love the way kids are like that…we all have a lot to learn!!! We are all works in progress and the good news is most of us aren’t where we are supposed to be, but we are usually waaaaay ahead of where we used to be! That’s a comfort for me. I LOVE the idea of a Living Rosary…I’m going to pass that along to our religion teacher at my girls’ school. Bless your baby’s heart! I bet he really enjoyed that. I still have a beautiful memory of walking into my son’s school to drop something off and walking in to find the entire school gathered in the cafeteria to pray the Rosary. Wow. Beautiful. Gave me chills and made me cry. Those sweet little voices – from Pre-K through 8th grade, all the teachers, etc. It was just amazing. I was truly mesmerized…
      Thanks for the kind words! We are so proud of our son! He’s in the Bahamas as I type…senior trip…yikes.

Leave a Reply

