needed this run

Standard

wow.  just did 5.18 miles in the chilly drizzly rain.  i would still be out there if i could.  choices, you know?  18 years ago today, i was walking in circles, still very pregnant with my son.  so, today, while i thought i would only do a 30 minute run so i could get back to my still-sleeping boy, i decided mid-run to celebrate me.  and do i have a lot to celebrate!  my son was my defining turn around for my life.  a permanent, glorious turnaround.  i literally jumped up and down when i realized i was going to have him.  finally, no one was going to convince me that i was garbage, unworthy of being a mom.  as it turns out, i’m good at it!  and i love it.  anyway, to celebrate me, i decided to run a little longer. i ran a bit cross country.  i loved listening to the wet, swishy sound of my speedy quick bright pink shoes.  i even relished in the thought of another pair.  i adore these kicks, i must say.  it was defintely a happy run.

anywho, back to the run…i am sopping and happy.  i’ve been on vacay for almost a week, and this is my second run since i’ve been back.  for mother’s day, i always give myself the gift of a nice long run some time during the week leading up to Sunday.  today doesn’t count.

there has been lots of building up stress in my life due to various things and with each run, i feel it dissipating.  running truly fixes me.  i need it and i love it.  and i thank God most of all, for the ability to get out there and do it.

yesterday, i was fortunate enough to substitute for my daughter’s p.e. class so that their coach could enjoy the teacher appreciation luncheon catered by Catahoula’s in Grand Coteau.  the moment i walked into the gym, the air was cool, the place was quiet (the girls hadn’t gotten there yet), and the sun lit the place up with a soft glow.  it was heavenly.  after i got my instructions, the girls came into the gym and lit up when they saw me!  it was wonderful.  “MMMMmiiissss MMMMaaaarrrryyyy!!!!”  They all ran across and hugged me, their sweet bright little faces just beautifully reflecting everything i love about that school.  i can’t describe what that time with them was like.  they played volleyball.  they were sweet to one another.  they laughed.  they danced.  they totally lifted my spirit, which had been heavy until that moment.  it was completely delightful and i will treasure that time with them. 

gotta get some work done around here…peace, y’all.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. Welcome back! And you sure as heck SOUND like a fantastic mom! You deserve more than a long run! Like new shoes if you need ’em…;)

    I am starting to feel a love of running (actually, I think we’re still “just friends”) but I’m panicking a bit about my first race. What do you do to mentally prepare?

    • Hey, girl! Glad to be back. Vacations are nice, but are work for sure! It was great to get away. Yay for you in your growing fondness! Don’t panic! Breathe!!! KNOW you have prepared. It is exhilerating to be in that group of fellow runners, waiting for the start. “Self-talk,” you know, in your head, must be positive. “I got this. I am so ready. This is just another training run.” And you know, for me, the bulk of running is not in my legs, but in my head. Someone asked me recently if running a marathon is hard. Immediately I said, “No. It isn’t hard. You train. So, when the day comes, you just do it.” And I really believe that. Over the years, I have gotten really comfortable and easy with myself on running and I am running better now than I ever have. Me & running have the best relationship EVER. Wait. I think I need to blog about this!!! LOL!!!! And by the way, you will do GREAT. I will be sending you positive energy!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

