inhale. exhale.

Standard

I didn’t post yesterday.  One of those days, one of those days.  Hubs takes 10-12 seconds to say a bunch of words, and then the rest of my Sunday night and most of Monday drastically changed.  Facts.  Just facts.  Not complaining.  I live in air conditioning, have lots of food & clothes & a family.  No complaints here.  Just like, wow, dude, really?  Spent 2 hours Sunday night trying to force my computer to do something it simply refused to do.  All the while, in the back of my mind, I was thinking, get this —- done, gotta run in the morning.  I usually don’t run on Sundays and by the time Monday rolls around, my legs are itchin’ to get out there.  Monday morning rolls around, and I get myself back in front of the computer.  Finally, 10:30, I win.  Bought a download to do what I needed.  Then had to get my father-in-law something and deliver it to his house, which is about 25-30 minutes away.  No biggie.  Delivered the wrong thing.  Didn’t need that.   Needed that.  Oopsie.  Went to health food store & got that.  Brought it back to him.  Went to Best Buy.  SEEMINGLY got what I needed.  Then this morning I find out I need another cable.  Seriously.  I planned to spend the whole day in fitness wonderland cuz hubs was gonna be out of town.  But no.  I need another cable.  Maybe I’ll buy it and strangle my computer.  Oh, and senior comes downstairs with his glasses in 2 separate pieces.  “Yeah, I know.  I need you to get these fixed for me.”  Goodbye fitness wonderland.  Hello my life.  Well, it’s not like I’m not fit.  Or healthy.  I was just trying to take advantage of what I perceived as a minor break.  Not so.  I still pounded out over 7 miles and that’s not a bad run.  I’ll take it.  I just wish I could relish in the quiet.  But I can’t.  Glasses need to be fixed, cable needs to be purchased, poster board needs to be bought for science poster that’s due tomorrow.  It’ll be me and the girls this afternoon and that’s always nice.  I love easy, quiet evenings.  I don’t watch tv.  I tried.  This morning.  “Isn’t that what stay-at-home-moms do?” I asked myself.  But as soon as I heard that idiot’s name from TV – Snoopi or whoever that new jersey female is, i clicked off the tv, reminded of why i don’t watch.  i refuse to give any of that garbage the tiniest bit of brain power.  i love the quiet.  birds, wind, my footsteps, the keyboard, the hum of the fridge.  windchimes.  those are the sounds of my day as a stay-at-home-mom.  then, the noises change, but are just as tasty and fulfilling…”mmmmooooommmm!!!!”  “I didn’t have enough food to eat at lunch.  I had to put my head down.”  “The peanut butter was bumpy.”  “My goldfish were broken.  I think you gave me old goldfish.  Please give me new ones from now on.”  “The grapes were toooooo sour.”  “The grapes were perfect.”  “Can I swim?”  “Can I rollerblade?”  “Can I watch  a movie?”  “Can I put some music on my IPod?”  “I don’t even stink.  I’m not taking a shower.” 

I LOVE all THOSE sounds.  I LIVE in those sounds.  I adore them. 

On tap for tonight…getting homework & studying out of the way early.  Getting to do something fun outside === bikes or blades…then, the Biggest Loser.  We LOVE that show. 

Oh, by the way, when I got home yesterday after making “deliveries,”  I managed to jump on the treadmill for a nice 5K.  I am still trying so hard to break 25:00 on the treadmill.  I keep trying different strategies, but so far, nothing.  25:09.  That’s the closest I’ve come.  I try warming up faster and then maintaining what I feel is pretty fast, but I can’t get there.  I alternate 500 meters with fast & faster.  I step my way up.  Nothing has worked so far.  I just had an idea.  Maybe I could warm-up outside of the 5K…get a lap or two in to get my legs going and THEN start the 5K program.  I’d start the whole thing faster.  Might work.  I won’t find out today, though.  Gotta run!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

