Jimmy and Libby’s daughter…

Standard

Had to track down one of my New Orleans cousins yesterday to get a question answered for hubs.  She works for the city and was indeed able to help.  I haven’t talked to her in YEARS, like since our family reunion 9 years ago!  So, when I was writing her, I wrote that I was “Jimmy and Libby’s daughter.”  As I typed it, it felt strange because both my parents are in Heaven.   My dad went when I was 8 and my mom when I was 30.  I’m 43!  I hadn’t had to refer to myself that way in forever, it seemed.  It was nice, I must say.  I miss them.  My mom was amazing, of course.  Not always, but she sure seemed amazing to me as I became a woman/wife/mother.  You know what they say about walking in someone else’s shoes?!?!?!?  So true…and my dad was a beautiful example of an Irish Roman Catholic father.  Black hair, beautiful blue eyes, loved our Lord with his entire being.  He would hold me up every night before I went to bed so that I could kiss the feet of Jesus on the beautiful, big crucifix that hung in my parent’s bedroom.  He loved me.  I knew it.

Then, today, I was trying to get my technology  squared away – synch this, synch that, log-in here, error message, et cetera.  So, in the process of this, I had to click on something for RunKeeper.com.  LOVE that app.  As it turns out, I AM A MARATHONER.  wow, dude.  It was funny to me.  None of the other categories fit and I figure with 5 of those bad girls under my belt, I am a marathoner.  Nice.  Like that. 

I suppose I just never label myself.  I never have reason to.  I get up early every day, start prayers before my eyes open (that took practice, y’all, it didn’t just come easy ;), and hit the ground running.  Getting lunches/snacks made, kids up, hubs up, cat fed, birds fed, plants watered, laundry going, dishes going, beds made, miles run, bike ridden, weights lifted, smoothies made, tea made, coffee made, coffe drank…or drunk?  drinkeded??  teehee.  whatever the going rate of how much water we should be drinking down the hatch, groceries picked up, dry cleaning picked up, cochlear implants working, figuring out dinner, feeding fam, cleaning kitchen, folding laundry, supervising homework, brainstorming project ideas for school, gathering soccer gear, gathering track gear, gathering hockey gear, cleaning car, putting away laundry…I guess I just never stopped to give myself a label.  It amuses me that in two days, I would fall under two separate, labels that I love.  Then, when all is said and done for that day, I haphazardly wipe off make up with a very efficient 2 in 1 cleanser, smear on PM moisturizer, guzzle oodles more water that I know going down will be going out around 1 or 2 in the morning, and jump into bed with hubs to watch Kramerica…then of course, I pray once again, to thank God for the blessing of having that day and the ability to do what I do with the people I do it with (family), and ask God if it’s His will, can I have one more?  I’ll do my best.

Peace, y’all.  Are you thanking God for something?  Anything?  Yes?  Oh, good.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

