I don’t do colds…;(

Standard

Did I mention I had a sore throat before I left for Belize???  Well, I did.  But, I ignored it and considered it my barometer telling me to relax and quit doing so much.  But I was going on vacay, so that was a given. 

However…waking up on the boat the last day, I had a burning throat…I would have attached a fiery red to describe how burning it felt.  Nothing I could do about it.  My remedy had I been home would have been a Listerine gargle, followed by Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar, loads of water, and finally, my mom’s Irish remedy – honey, lemon and a nice splash of bourbon.  But, I didn’t have any of that, so I thought, well, I’ll be home tonight and will do it then. 

By the time I got home that night, 11:00, and got Christmas, a-hem, ready, my head felt HUGE and heavy, my throat was burning still, and I just wanted to go to bed. 

Long story short – I was sick on Christmas day, to the point that I couldn’t go to family’s house in order not to spread my germy self around.  I felt like I was banished to the Island of Misfit Toys.  I’m not complaining, I’m just sayin’.  sheesh.

Sat night – up all night with raging fever.  Not sure how high because SOMEONE got my one and only working thermometer to not work.  So, I just gauged it by how boiling my brain fluids felt.  Pretty darn boiling.  Ow.

Sunday.  That’s today.  Right.  Church.  C’mon, you feel great, right?  Pick yourself up!  Eat some sushi, put on your running clothes and get out there!  Breathe.  Breathe deep.  Yep, I did.  me and my girlies on their new Santa bikes.  Got to the gate.  Stttrrrettch!!!!  Bend….wh-what???  Who put bricks in my head???  Hey, when did that happen???  MY HEAD HURTS and won’t stop.  Ooow.  Naturally, my hubby attributes this headache to running and nothing else.  That hurts.  ow.  I can’t get comfortable.  I think I need Mom’s remedy.  Oh, and today would be the old broad’s birthday.  I miss her terribly.  She was the most non-judgmental person I ever met.  She always pointed me toward God.  She was awesome.  She’d be 82 today.  I’m sure she’s in Heaven, having an Old Fashioned…my Libby…

Anywho, I am very lucky to have not had so much as a cold in years.  I guess that’s why I’m such a bad patient.

I just hate wasting time feeling poorly.  Could be doing laundry or playing with my girlies.  They are watching Toy Story 3 which is so not happening for me.  I cried my eyes out in the theater during that movie!  If you are the mom of a teenage boy, you get me.  If not, then one day, you will.   Don’t watch that movie while your boy is in high school! : )

Okay.  Mom’s remedy beckons.  Peace, y’all.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

