slow

Standard

I actually listened to my body today.  Lots of internal stuff going on between my ears, in the way of conversation!  I got up & got dressed in my running clothes.  Nothing new there.  Always ready to run.  Didn’t actually run till about 1:30, though and it was a slow, true recovery run.  I needed it.  I tried talking myself into blistering a 5K and realized I ran pretty fast for the last three days.  My body said no.  So, I still ran a 5K and I still feel as fulfilled as ever.  I ran slow.  Finished in 34 minutes.  I actually was able to read through my Food Network Magazine.  It was hard turning away from the S’mores recipes!!!!  But I did that, too.  It was just one of those days.  A/C people were here this morning and so was the handy-dude.  I’ve had a headache since last night and I am just realizing it is GONE!!!!  Yay for that.  A couple of more days till my girlies start their new school.  Had lunch with a wonderful mom from our “old” school and her daughters, who are in the same grade as mine.  I’ll miss her during the school year, but we know we’ll keep in touch.  Everyone I have talked to about the “switch” has said the same thing – everything happens for a reason.  I am now hopeful that this switch proves to be a good thing.  I think the initial shock was a little scary, but having extra time in the afternoon is extra time in the afternoon!  What mom couldn’t use THAT??!!

Anywho, I can feel the rhythm in our home beginning to change toward that school-routine feeling.  I am looking forward to getting back to the Adoration Chapel in my son’s school.  I am looking forward to that amber light that begins earlier in the evening sky.  I am looking forward to chili & cornbread (with Fritos, of course;)…I am planning on doing bar-b-qued brisket sandwiches for our family tomorrow night for dinner.  People.  This is seriously good food.  I slow cook the brisket all day, slice with an electric knife, coat with Jack Miller’s Bar-B-Que sauce, and gently lay a few pieces on a roll from Poupart’s Bakery, here in Lafayette.  Are you kidding?  This is goooood.  Our whole family loves it.

Speaking of…gotta go meet with the floor folks again.  I’m getting dinner ready early – hamburger steaks & homemade mac & cheese…with an obligatory veggie…idk which yet.

Peace.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

