Standard

My sweet girl was feeling well enough to accompany me on a run this morning.  It was EXTREMELY HUMID.  She made it two miles on her bike before we had to turn around…she would have kept going, but I know her and it was something for me to see her display so much heart and desire to keep on moving!  So, I got her home, safe & sound, and asked her before we turned in, “So, do you mind if I ride my bike for a bit?”  Of course she didn’t; she just wanted air conditioning!

Rode.  Grassy, a little muddy and wet.  Perfect.  Got to the furthest point in the ‘hood.  Ring, freaking ring.  Hello?  “MMMaaahhhhmmmm, she’s being soooo mmmmeeaannn to meeeee….”  Mind you, my housekeeper and 17 year old son were manning the ship, right?  “I’m coming home.”  The phone rang twice on my furiously-peddling trip home.  I didn’t answer.  I know a couple of drama queens when I hear them.  However, being post-surgery, I couldn’t let this go.  So, I got home and all was well.  My biking spirit had vaporized. 

We changed planets by going to the library, having lunch together and knocking out a couple of errands.  As much as I love my children, this nagging unfinished feeling ate away at me in the back of my mind. 

Once home, I got into the pool for a vigorous :40 ass-kicking session.  I could sell this stuff, stuff being the workouts I come up with.  It’s great, I tell you.  Anywho, that was great…loved it. 

Got changed into typical afternoon clothes – Ann Taylor shorts & a tee, flip flops…had to cook for the little ones, so an apron.  This particular apron is older than my oldest daughter, rather faded and much loved.  After dinner duty was handled, I decided to chill out and watch a DVR-d Katie Brown.  It’s kind of like “Whatever, Martha” for me – I mentally critique her hard work…sometimes like, sometimes not. 

Oh, what the hell?  I’m getting that run in!  I’m doing it now before I have another thought!  I feverishly tied on my Mizunos & pressed start/6.0…I looked over into the mirror and laughed out loud at what I saw.  This 42 year old mom just running, APRON ON, and happy!!!!  It was great.  After I got my running legs under me, I cranked up the speed and finished the last half mile at 8.0 mph, pretty fast for me. 

When I walked through the living room, my girls, comfy and watching Ann of Green Gables (thank you Lafayette Public Library), I asked them, “Guess what I did?”  “What?”  “I just ran a 5K!”  “IN YOUR APRON???”  “yes.”  “wow.”  It was great.  My universe is aligned.  I guess I’ll try to remember this feeling and run early tomorrow so I can carry this alignment feeling with me all day!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

