What a difference summer vacay makes…

Standard

My goal this year was a fairly meager 20 miles per week. Leaves room for the ‘what-ifs’ in life without making me crazy trying to reach an unrealistic goal. Well, for most weeks this year, I’ve pretty much run the gammut: right under 20, a little over, way over. I figured, like my mom used to say, it all comes out in the wash. I planned to average anyway.

Then, my bike came into the picture. I really enjoyed riding it and look with jealous envy (yes, I chose to put those two words together), at a couple of guys who obviously just finished a ride this a.m. at Rouse’s Supermarket in Youngsville. I was going there to try to find something my daughter would like, plus I needed more organic catsup for the kids. So, I looked at those two dudes, yucking it up about what a great ride they just had and figured they’d just go have a great day. I’m sure they are…

Anywho, with all the stuff going on with my daughter, my heart is not really into running because I don’t want to be away from her, even if she is under the watchful eye of someone capable.

So, as I tallied this week’s running mileage, I got a grand-stinking-total of 8. Yes, that would be a single digit. 8. 8. 8. 8. eight. ocho. huit. VIII. get it?

I’m not freaked out or anything, just in awe of what being a full time mom means in the summer. I’m sure next week will be better. I know next week will be better.

Here’s the kicker, y’all. I feel so unbelievably awesome and it’s due, today anyway, to the 90 minute pool workout I had. It was great. Convalescing (sp?) daughter on big, comfy chair, sleeping away her pain, without an implant on, with strict instructions to other two kids in the house, “Don’t touch or bother your sister in any way.” And I’m off…10 feet from the back door is my pool and I totally used it today to the fullest! I had my regular 5 pound weights that I don’t really use in my workout room, but in the pool, it was a different story. I think I hit every muscle group I have! I’m not sore in the least, but I definitely can feel that I had a great workout – I feel very stretched out and stress-free, which is great when I have to be top-notch for my sweet girl. And the other kids, but especially her for the moment.

So, it seems that while my asphalt mileage will be fairly diminished during the summer break, my fitness will not be suffering in the least!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

