Tomorrow’s another day…

Standard

I don’t do “off” days well…at ALL.  I don’t look forward to them.  I’m not sure if I even need them…I just force them upon myself because in my mind, I think I should not be so willing to be so physical 7 days a week.  After all, I’m not a nut or anything, if i get out there and I’m not feeling it, I go home…it’s happened many times and I just accept that my body lets me know when enough if enough.  I’m 42 for crying out loud, it’s not like I’m NOT going to listen to this bod…so, I fake-tried to embrace, “Yay, tomorrow’s Sunday & I’m OFF!  Woo-hoo!  No running!  Just good ‘ol rest…”  Yeah, right.  It’s like I didn’t have coffee today.  Finally, after Mass & overseeing yet another third-grade project (I’m so sick of 3rd grade), I just dove right in.  Literally, I thought, the rain is coming and I’m going while I can.  I got about 10 laps in (60 foot pool) and the thunder was pretty loud.  So, I got out.  Then, after I got 4th grader to class sleepover, I got on the bike with 3rd grader for a couple of miles & then we jumped into the pool….all the while, though, okay most of the while, I was thinking of running.  And the oil spill.  But running more…thinking of how I would feel tomorrow.  Am I up for another personal duathlon?  Since it is personal, can’t I run first, since that’s where my heart is?  Or, will it be muddy from the intermittent rain?  Maybe a muddy run is in order?  Will it be humid? Like I’m running through the jungle?  We’ll see.

I miss my son.  I know he’s having a great time, but I miss my son.  I love the person he is becoming and I love knowing God entrusted him to me.  If God gave me a choice, I would have picked him…I guess, nowadays and thenadays, God did give me a choice and I did pick him.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Seeing that child struggle through his junior year, wanting to switch schools even, but being pushed to push on (by yours truly), just makes me want to be better and do more.  I never had Algebra II and I am totally lost when I see what that boy had to do in his junior year.  I used to think that being a devoted mom helped us get to Heaven, but I can see now that having children and seeing what wonderous little creatures they are is what gets us there even more…I knew really soon when I was pregnant with my son and I was immediately and permanently changed.  I knew motherhood was going to be my life and I couldn’t believe it…after my upbringing?  Really, God?  You trust me this way?  Wow.  You must.

Okay, I guess twelve more hours will let us know what tomorrow brings…peace…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

