Take the left.

Standard

I rode my bike first today, before running, that is.  This is after waking up at 5:45, getting the 3rd grader UP and dressed in African motif costume – fabric dress, tied & pinned here & there, and a gele, which is the beautiful wrapped headdress often seen by African women.  This particular little woman screamed at me, called me by my first and last names, and pretty much had a bad morning.  It got worse when the reality of no milk hit home – nothing to pour on top of her Fruit Loops, because apparently what was left was poured on top of the Cocoa Puffs by her 4th grader sister, who gets up lovingly & thoughtfully most mornings, gets dressed, starts studying and pours her own cereal.  I’m cerious.  Heehee.  Seriously, though, she does.  So, trying to keep peace, I dashed to the store and pulled into my neighborhood just in time to see the recycle truck LEAVING my neighborhood.  Immediately I thought of the crawfish shells the college student mistakenly put into the recycle bin…finally, after a couple of days of marinating in the hot Louisiana humidity & sunshine, I realized where the stench was coming from…

Anywho, after all was said & done I rode 5 quick miles in twenty minutes.  My quads were gently calling to me to leave them alone.  Not till after a run, my pretties! ;>]  So, I ran.  It was hot.  I kept running. Me & my FRS.  Love that stuff on a hot, humid day.  I had a choice to make – continue straight or take a left on the new road to add some distance.  I already had met my mile quota in running for the week.  But how would I feel, passing up that road?  Not good, I figured.  I would be happy to think about it afterward.  So, I took the left and was so happy that I did.  I ended up with almost 3 add’l miles…more later.  movies with my son… : )

Okay, I’m back – we saw Prince of Persia…very good.  I don’t remember the last time I spent $10 getting into a movie for both me and my son!  Plus, we hid Subway sandwiches in my purse for lunch, so I felt like it was a bargain day!  Girls back from school – needing a swim on this hot afternoon…all of us girls, that is!  My sweet son is going to the beach tomorrow morning with his dad…I never get over missing him when he goes out of town, which is pretty much in the summer.  Ducks hanging around, quacking, being cute…

I must say, I’m glad I took the left!  I don’t feel like I left anything out there and I love the way that feels…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

