Top of the triangle…

Standard

Saturday evening’s race was great.  When I got there, I began to immediately look for a ladies room that was not a plastic movable rectangle…;)  Saw this lady & her daughter – every time I see them at a race, I think,  ugh, but a very mixed ugh…they are wonderful runners, both of them, and very pretty, seemingly very nice people, as well.  But I knew my work was cut out for me.  I had been working in the yard all day and I mean WORKING.  Planting tons of stuff, lifting, moving, etc.

Anywho, this mother/daughter team quickly moved past me during the first half mile of the race.  I saw the pace & thought, mom, you can’t keep up with your daughter…continued on in my own race, enjoying the bridge run.  About 3/4 of a mile from the finish, there’s mom, daughter, well ahead.  Mom’s pace had slowed, but she was still doing really well, I thought.  I kept going.  I realized I was the “bottom” point of a sideways moving- – triangle — there was mom at the top, some girl in the middle and then me.   I almost just held my pace…this was a friendly race, right?  Almost.  It was, after all, a race, RIGHT?  So I turned it on, y’all!  Evidently, neither mom nor female liked it, cuz they started coming after me!  It was great.  I thought, “I want to be at the top of the triangle! I want it more!”  I could see mom’s shadow approaching my left shoulder.  Oh, no, you’re not!  I let it rip, and happily landed my right grey & blue Mizuno on the timing pad before either of those two chicks.  When I looked at my Garmin, the last part of the race, I was running 5:49!!!  Woop-woop!!!  It was great!  I grabbed two cups of water, went to my car and drove home to spend the evening in the hot tub with my daughters & hubby…perfect ending to a perfect day.

UPDATE!!!  I won my age group!  Results finally available last night!  I was the 5th female finisher & 1st for the 40-49…totally stoked about that.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

  1. saw you won your age group on RLAM Facebook page. Congrats! Isn’t it great when someone else pushes you (without them actually noticing – although these ladies did notice you!). congrats again.

    • Thank you!!! You’re right about being pushed in a race. I LOVE the RLAM page & the site…does my memory serve me correctly – you had the “herd of worms” remark??? LOL! That remark stood out in my mind & apparently in Dimity’s mind, too! I guess it falls in line with what I think at times during a run, “movement is good!”

Leave a Reply

