the numbers game

Standard

I planned an easy run today because my legs are a little tired from my speedy runs Sat & Sun, longer run yesterday.  I headed out & 100 yards away, came home.  Realized I wasn’t feeling it.  Turned on P90X.  Plyometrics.  Loved.  Got about :20 into it.  Phone rings.  Tutor.  Discuss h.s. kid’s progress.  Finally left the house while talking to her – figured if I couldn’t workout, I could go to the cleaners, right?!  My cell phone starts beeping about a low battery.  No charger.  Rental.  Oh, I dropped my Yukon off so I could get my Wal-Mart “incident” repaired.  yay.  Credit card or credit card machine acts weird.  No matter.  They let me take my clothes.  They know I’m good for it. 

All the while, I’m thinking about that run I didn’t do.  I thought of my beautiful son yesterday afternoon, deciding to begin to get back into working out.  He ran on my TM.  It was a great start for him.  If he could start from nothing, couldn’t I go home & just quit the internal whining & get it done?  So, I did.  And while I ran a sloooww pace, I realized it was what my legs needed and more importantly,what my spirit needed. 

I also realized it is a numbers game with me.  Last week, I so didn’t make my 20 miles per week goal.  I think I secretly thought I could make up the difference this week.  I went on to think that if I skipped today’s run, I might be off this week’s goal, too.  Heaven forbid. 

I won’t be off my goal this week, and I don’t know if today’s run was a quality run or not.  I’m thinking it was. 

Yes, it was.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

