Rage against the machine…

Standard

Okay, that’s dramatic.  I was so looking forward to a nice, long run after getting the kids back to school this morning.  I ran 5 miles in Girard Park.  My goal was 6 laps around the park.  It wasn’t happening.  I think speeding through my 5K TM workouts on Sat. & Sun. taxed my legs more than I realized.  Heap on top of that mounds of landscaping work in our yard.  It was gnawing at me, that feeling of incompletion.  I wanted to reach my goal today because who knows what tomorrow may bring. 

I went about my business – groceries, cleaners, etc., but when I got home, I knew I would take one basic 3 mile lap.  5 + 3 still equals 8, whether run together or not!  So, I did it.  No I-Pod.  I just wanted to hear the rhythmic patting of my feet.  I got to the gate & stretched & just enjoyed the moment.  Then it hit me:  A bad day of running is better than…well, anything else when you subtract the obvious – family/babies/spa, etc. : )

I couldn’t figure out why…oh, just got interrupted…16 year old has in-school suspension tomorrow/weed-picking duty for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.  wow.

Anywho, I realized that part of the reason I run is because aside from loving it, I’m strong and healthy.  Why shouldn’t I?  Why shouldn’t we push through and do many of the things we avoid?  I like pushing myself.  I was raised in a way that circumstances seemed to push me around.  With running, I’m in control…how many miles, pace, place, etc.  It’s great.  So, I rage against the machine, that being the one in my head.  When it’s screaming at me that there is so much else to do; don’t I think I should walk; what makes me think I can meet this goal in this heat; I know that I can focus on my other machines – my quads, and just keep them moving, keep the turnover going. 

It’s great.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

