Welcome back…

Standard

I realized today that first and foremost, I AM A MOM!!!  And I love that.  I am a runner somewhere down the line (not too far;] ) after that, but Mom is totally at the top of the list.  Getting kiddos ready in the morning, an 8:00 meeting at STM with an unbendable Algebra teacher, typical day-to-day stuff.  Phone rings 3 minutes after my son leaves.  “Mom, I got in a wreck.”  Those are not words any mom wants to hear at any time.  Me & the girls were attempting to leave at that moment for the bus stop anyway, so we just headed out straightaway.  It is super foggy here this morning and he hit a lady from behind and then he got hit from behind.  Thank God no one was hurt.  My son’s vehicle was terribly damaged, but that’s just a thing & things come & go.  Went to accident scene, made sure everything/everyone was okay, got girls to bus stop, went back to scene & helped my son with paperwork, etc….got him to school – tardy, naturally – and managed to be only 15 minutes late for my meeting! 

I haven’t run since Saturday morning & that was a TM run, which will do in a pinch.  But I really wanted to get out in the sun, since the fog finally cleared up & the golf tournament is over. 

By the time I got back home, the handy-dude was here to do some work.  FINALLY, got my Mizunos laced up, music qued, even had a little Cytomax in my bottle.  As soon as I started running, I had to remind myself the first 10 minutes of warming up STINK!!!  I feel like I’m plodding & barely moving, but I know that will pass.

I kept on going, of course, and finally, after just over a mile and well on my way to the back of the neighborhood, I began to walk.  Walking during a run is a pretty low point for me.  When I think, “Movement is better than no movement,” I’m feeling low.  But, upon reflection, I realized my heart was still so heavy from this weekend & then compounded with my son’s ordeal this morning, I just felt so dang heavy!  My sweet son’s blue eyes were just huge with “Wow, I can’t believe this just happened,” and I couldn’t do much except be supportive & help.  Of course, it turned out well, but still traumatic.  I realized I felt like I had all my extra weights on – ankle, waist, wrist, but no, I didn’t.  I just felt that weight that a mother feels when things aren’t right in her world. 

I allowed myself to continue to walk & then as I made the last big curve toward the back of my ‘hood, I saw it.  I even smiled.  There it was just waiting for me – my big, grassy, car-less, dumpster-less grassy TRACK!!!  That’s the ticket!  I started jogging toward it, hopped over the golf cart path & started my run again.  And it felt great.  The grass welcomed me with each cushioned foot-fall.  A new addition – clover flowers & onion flowers brushed my ankles and tickled me back to the lightness I always feel on my track.  Could I do — dare I think it ‘cuz I’ll have to do it then —6 LAPS???  Feeling like I feel today?  Scratch that.  Feeling like I felt today?  Of course I can.  I’m back on my track.  Yes, I did my 6 laps and even walked one, turning off my BFF Garmin for that – didn’t want to skew my numbers, of course.  It was glorious and just what I needed today. 

Anywho, I ended up with 5 miles and don’t feel badly about that.  I always feel a little freaked out when I know the holidays are approaching and I wonder how I can meet my self-imposed quota of 20 miles a week.   But, I also know that where there’s a will, there’s a way and the good Lord knows I’m always willing, so He always makes a way! 

I’m so happy my little slump is looking up.  I realize that without a few low points, we can’t appreciate the flowery, grassy tracks of our lives.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

