Friday!!!!!!!!!

Standard

This morning started typically enough.  I woke up and realized my heart was heavy due to my 9 year old’s temper tantrum last night.  Oh, well, what’s done is done…wandered into the kitchen to get coffee, happy with the fact that I was driving the girls to school due to soccer practice gear, regular school gear, and a special project that was too delicate for the bus.  Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted a stray Cheerio (my hubby), and a stray piece of dental floss.  Probably the 9-year old. 

I actually sat with coffee ON THE COUCH before I had to wake up 16 year old & girls!  This is such a rarity for me before school…anywho, I glanced at the fireplace, still bedecked with a beautiful Nativity scene.  Yes, I know.  We just had St. Patrick’s Day.  Even my husband asked me how long I intended to keep it there.  IDK…But as I looked at it, I realized how much I love it because it reminds me of family.  And the fact that Mary & Joseph had their own set of problems as a couple and then a family, but they stayed together and made it!  Okay, maybe I don’t need the Nativity scene set up in March to remind me of that, but for now, that’s the deal.

As I donned my running clothes, I wondered what kind of run I would do today…I already had my hard workout attempt at speed & I’m not in training for anything in particular.  Then it hit me:  6 grassy laps…I just did 6 grassy laps twice this week!  Well, this will make an even 18!  The internal conversation went on & I wondered why I even was arguing with myself becuase I knew that anything except 6 grassy laps would feel like I fell short this week.  So, I did it.  It was great.  I knew it would be.  It was hard.  I knew it would be.  Then, I had a fleeting thought…as difficult as my life has been during different periods of time, endurance running really is easy.  That said, I had a new appreciation for those grassy laps and appreciated them for what they were:  a wonderful, brief escape to run freely and bask in the glory when I was finished.

I wasn’t alone out there today.  The ‘hood is getting ready for the annual golf tournament and lots of preparation is required.  The Waste Management dudes used the middle of my “track” as command central for dispersing of big, green, freshly painted dumpsters.  No biggie.  We didn’t get in each other’s way.  But there went my imagination again smack dab in the middle of my run.  “A runner’s remains were found in a brand new, freshly painted Waste Management dumpster right in the middle of a field of a very affluent golf course neighborhood in South Louisiana.  Authorities had to plug in her BFF Garmin to look for any identifying records.  Waste Management dudes are the prime suspects at this time.”  I felt bad for having that headline unexpectly scroll through my brain.  It actually made me laugh out loud.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

