A speedwork attempt…

Standard

I read everything I can about running because I absolutely love it.  I love hearing about it and knowing what works for other people.  I would like to get faster and I know to run faster, one has to run faster, right?  Easier said than done, in my world.  I mean, okay, I can run faster…for how long?  What’s most effective?  I keep digging around the computer & books to see what works.  I’m 42 and  mom, not that I’m trying to hold myself back, but I know I can’t do what the 20-somethings can do.  But I want to do what I can & it’s not like there’s tons of stuff out there geared for ME! 

I decided last night I would set my BFF Garmin 305 (I adore that piece of equipment) to beep at me every :60.  Sounds reasonable.  Surely I can run fast for one dang minute & then slow it down for a minute & then round & round she goes, right?  I began.  :10 warm-up, holding back on the reigns even more than usual, wanting to save any “steam” for my :60…so, I did it & the first 3 fast :60’s were great.  I thought on the next, slower run :60 that my Garmin must not be working right because I thought it beeped at me too soon to run fast again.  Then I thought it was broken again because it didn’t seem to beep at me soon enough on the fast :60! 

Happily, I accomplished my goal for the day, to run faster.  Seeing what an effort this morning was tells me I need to incorporate some sort of speed work into my workouts more frequently.

Because I love distance, my perfect running day would be to get the kids to school, the husband to work, and just run, for the whole day; well, the whole school day;).  I’d have money on board to buy water when I needed it and then around 1:30, I could call my husband from wherever I was at that point, he would stop his day & come pick me up & drop me off at home so I could clean up & pick up kiddos…now that I think of it, this fantasy day would have to be on a Friday because Lord knows I wouldn’t want to come home and then do homework!  A mom can dream, can’t she??!!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

