Monday…and slowing to smell the proverbial roses

Standard

Friday was all that I had hoped.  It was so very nice to see my son get Confirmed.  His girlfriend came with us and then accompanied us to dinner afterwards.  I could not have picked a better girlfriend for him!  He has great taste!

Soccer Saturday morning – 2 games – 3rd & 4th grade.  My sweet girls played their hearts out, as usual.  They adore soccer.  During my 3rd grader’s game, she got smacked very hard right in the face with the ball.  The whole sideline cried in unison, “OOOOooooohhhh!”  Bless her heart.  She just crumbled.  I rushed out – I am the team mom, after all ;), and scooped her up, carried her to the bench and examined her face.  Her coach who is a doctor grabbed ice.  She quit crying immediately which made me think it probably scared her more than anything.  I knew she was alright when she started looking at herself in the reflection of my sunglasses fixing her hair & adjusting her headband!  🙂 

Oh, Saturday was EXTREMELY WINDY!!!!  Perfect kite-flying weather.  So, that’s what we did.  The girls had a blast running around the field next door getting Shamu and a butterfly up in the air!  It was great to watch.  They even went swimming for a little while!  They, like me, are ready for full-blown spring!

Sunday Mass was wonderful.  Our priest always has a great message for us.  Two bikerides were in order – it was another beautiful day…

Monday, Monday…loads of homework; typical for my girls that day.  Two soccer games later that evening…husband looked after girls while I watched hockey.  I came home to find the girls up an hour past their bedtime, playing the harmonica and a zombie game that entailed lots of screaming and running…I didn’t say a word about it! 

Tuesday morning – I wanted to do only a basic lap,which for me is right under 3 miles, but leaves me short of my default thirty minute run.  What to do?  What to do?  I ran the basic and added in an extra street, which counts for about .5 miles, and adds a few minutes to my run.  To be sure I got my :30, I used light ankle weights as wrist weights, only 3 extra pounds total!  Wow!  Just that little bit of weight, I guess concentrated in one area, really was a great workout!  It forced me to slow down; I could really feel my quads, oddly enough!

Anywho, the birds are singing and my new flowers are calling me to plant them! 

St. Patty’s Day tomorrow!  What can I surprise my kiddos with for breakfast?  Hhhmmmm…

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

