Soaking up the sun :)

Standard

Today, I ran 4 miles on the track…I warmed up for a mile and then really wanted to speed it up, intermittently, and I did, TWICE.  Yes, twice.  If I weren’t so grateful for what life has given me, I would be embarrassed.  But I’m not.  Twice is better than none, right?  Anywho, I’m trying to figure out how to get faster – obviously to run faster, one has to run faster…I get that.  I’m starting to think it may be food-related.  I usually eat breakfast pretty early and by the time I get to run, on a day like today, it was mid-morning.  I’m wondering if I would have felt the same had I eaten something in the interim…or, possibly, I just am not used to speedwork.  The speedwork I did in the last training program was mainly done on the treadmill, in air conditioning, due to blisteringly hot summers we have down here in South Louisiana.   I feel like a vampire many a day in August because I don’t want to go outside till the sun goes down!  Anywho, that’s what’s on my running mind today.  I managed to get 4 miles in, so that was good.  There was this BIG guy running – and he had a nice pace going – who was pretty inspirational to watch while I stretched on the side of the track.  I caught up to him a little later when he stopped and asked him about his running and he told me he ran a mile and a half & was going to do some SPRINTS!!!  More power to you, dude.  That’s awesome.  For me, not completing a run the way I would like weighs on my mind till the next meeting with the asphalt!  I actually considered getting out there again today, just to expend some energy, but then I realized my new pedi would not like it. ; 0  My feet are beaten up and the day I get a pedi is a great foot-day.  I don’t want to mess with that! 

Yay for the coming weekend!  Confirmation tomorrow night for my 16-year old son, 2 soccer games, and a baseball tournament AND a great weather forecast!  I might even feel the pool!!!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

