The way things flow…

Standard

I guess my patient husband recognized my restlessness this morning, even though I tried my best to hide it.  He told me, “Go.  Run. I know that’s what you want to do.”  But, as his wife, I like to be home with him before he goes to work…anywho, he was getting a late start himself, so I went.  And it was all I was hoping for.  I took my Garmin, only to make sure it was functioning properly; it was.  I didn’t have my I-Pod; just one of those mornings I didn’t want it.  As I ran, one of the thoughts running through my mind was my sweet third grader, whose biggest request to me lately was, “Mom, I need more art paper.”  I love that simplicity.  She is a phenomenal artist…total side bar here – kids with some kind of impairment often make up for it in other, fascinating ways.  In her case, she draws/colors/paints beautifully.  I love to watch her because she sees things and captures them in ways that I just adore.  And I just love that “more art paper” is what she’s looking for these days.  Then, I thought about her rock project due on Monday – a dozen rocks in an egg carton.  When I got to my turnaround point, I spied a few really cool little rocks that I thought she would like.  I’m sure passing cars thought I was just a nut – breathing heavily, bent over/squatting & picking through apparently nothing much on the ground!  After careful selection, I ran on home & stowed the rocks in the carton…can’t wait to show my girl. 

Afterwards, I took off my Brooks, kissed them, yes, kissed them, and told them I’d see them bright & early Sunday morning in New Orleans! 

So, here I am, finally REALLY excited about the race on Sunday.  I’m excited that I’m running, yes.  I’m really excited to be visiting the city where my parents lived/met/went to college/got married/had babies/buried one of them/brought us kids to visit our whole lives…the city where my parents enlightened me on the World’s BEST sandwich, Central Grocery’s Muffalatta – this sandwich is a masterpiece and I don’t share it and I can’t eat it all at one sitting, but what I can’t eat gets wrapped up & goes in my purse…the same city where me & my husband got married/conceived a baby (AMB)/had countless walks…this beautiful city that has seen so much, given so much, taken so much, will smell sweet, a little heavy with the morning air, even cold air (you’ve never felt air till you feel it in New Orleans; I mean, you FEEL it…) This run will feel historic underfoot – cobblestone streets here & there, damp with morning dew, especially through the French Quarter…streets perforated by street car tracks…I love New Orleans.  I always have and I always will…before my mom died & we knew she was dying, I drove her to New Orleans to reminisce with her…all her old “stomping grounds” from the streets she lived on, houses she lived in, the mailbox near Loyola where she met my dad, the storefront where she bolted from my dad during their brazen attempt to elope – she didn’t go through with it because she knew it would hurt her father too much not to have the honor of walking her down the aisle – the churches she prayed in and lit candles begging God to give her a child (she couldn’t have babies for the first 7 years of her marriage to my dad, then, she ended up having seven kids!  See?  Prayer works : ) !!)  We visited the mausoleum where her parents and daughter are buried…Sunday’s run will be a total sensory trip for me & I’m so stoked about it…Peace, y’all!

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

