My running date…

Standard

Last night, instead of watching the Olympics, I watched Nat Geo’s special about the Chupacabra…yes, you read correctly.  It’s this freaky little animal that looks like a leathery dog/pig…I was just about to find out what was going on with it’s DNA when my husband came in & jacked the remote from me…oh, well, the mystery will have to wait for another day.

While I was driving last night at 8:00 to watch my son’s 8:30 hockey game – I just can’t get used to any sport starting so late when our kids are in high school…there was even a game after THAT!  The nerve… 🙂  Anyway, I was stopped at a train on a really dark road & I cracked my windows to hear it – I love that sound.  Of course, I was extra vigilant because with my extremely active imagination, I could just envision some axe murderer running up to my vehicle (I was 3rd in line out of about 20 cars), putting his axe between his knees to hold it while he crammed his unclean hands into the crack & just broke out my window so he could murder me…anywho, it just hit me – getting ready for a big race is like getting ready for a date!  You sign up, eagerly anticipate the event and as the big day approaches, you get ready, just like for a date.  What am I going to wear?  How will I do my hair?  Which deodorant???  The normal, unhealthy kind if I’ll be nervous, but the natural, aluminum-free if I won’t be…who am I kidding?  It’ll be Mitchum, for sure.  Oh, and don’t forget to shave.  Pits & legs.  Just like a real date!   And finally, the day arrives to do this thing and nerves or no nerves, you put everything on you’ve planned & tried already, find your comfort zone at the starting line & wait for the doorbell…the gun, I mean!  I love it.  I love everything about it.

My sweet son’s team lost, 7-2…I came home, went to kiss my sleeping daughters & found JonTerez sleeping peacefully in MY nightgown and HER pantyhose!!! 

I love my life.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

