Unseasonably cold…loving it!!!

Standard

We didn’t have the anticipated snow flurries, but the temperature certainly dropped!  The temp. this morning was 39 with a wind chill of 30!  That is so unlike South Louisiana…I’m wondering what all the race participants must be thinking!  We have such crazy fluctuating weather here.

Got my 3 miles in…realized I was a little overambitious in my attire about 3/4 of a mile down the road, but we live on a golf course & I found out a long time ago, there’s something about the way the neighborhood is designed, it’s always a little colder & windier down toward the turn-around of my run.  No Garmin, no I-Pod (thanks, kids;), so it was actually nice just to run happy.  I always stress out the week before a big race, but I’m getting better at managing it.  “Why am I running so slowly?”  among other questions.  But, the older I get, the more relaxed I become.  I’m quite satisfied to have the ability to start and finish a race.  If my time is good, that’s just lagniappe (prounounced: lohn-yop) and it means extra!

I’m excited to go to my son’s school this morning to pray for the students and faculty & their families.  We are Roman Catholic and our kids go to Catholic school.  Our kids’ high school has a wonderful adoration chapel & a group of us moms volunteer at the beginning of the school year to spend an hour once a week in the chapel.  At the beginning, I thought I was doing a good thing for the kids, but realized very quicky it was doing what I perceived to be so very much more for me.  My time there is at 11:30, lunchtime for them, and the kids who come in and out while I am in there is just beyond-words amazing.  They come in to pray, sit, quietly visit with friends, etc.  My spirit is always lifted when I see these sweet children kneel down and bow their heads.  I love that place.  Sometimes, the kids play music, Christian, of course, and the lights are always low.  It always reminds me of a newborn’s nursery.  I just feel God’s love every time I step in there.

About southernrunningmom

Contact me like this: Via FaceBook - Mary Broussard, Certified Health Coach (feel free to private message me) or e-mail me - southernholistichealth@gmail.com. I am also on Twitter - MaryBob143. Instagram - Southern Running Mom...peace out. I keep my original profile details up because...well, that was my truth back then. Today, I'm much different. And busy. So, I'll update the About Me section very soon. Meanwhile, my tags would be: recovery, AA, 12 Steps, honesty, abuse, recognizing narcissism. Any who, thanks for reading this far. Mom with great husband & family...I totally love running, cooking, gardening...

Leave a Reply

