Friday. Yet Sunday.

Standard

p>I LOVE FRIDAYS.  Just the idea of having a break with my family or setting my alarm clock because I want to go RUN is an EXHILARATING thought!  I just soak up Friday.  Oh, and I rarely cook on Fridays.  We love Vietnamese food and of course, in South Louisiana, during Lent, Fridays mean crawfish.  I still remember my parents having conversations that circled around penance during Lent, yet crawfish was completely acceptable during Lent.  </p><p>This week has been extra-good for me, physically speaking…I feel 90 percent recovered from the Zydeco Marathon.  I say 90 percent because until I really let it rip with a little speed work, well, that’s when I’ll be back at 100 percent.  My goal this week was, to quote the fitness master Sean T, to “push play” 3 times this week AND also keep some running in the mix.  I did Insanity Day 1, T25 on 2 days, and today I did my first Body Rock class in our neighborhood.  A workout class IN PUBLIC is a huge step for me.  I’ve always been self-conscious, felt uncoordinated, etc.  But you know what?  So what.  I joked with the instructor that I was going to hang out in the back of the class in case I needed to run out &amp; couldn’t hang.  I hung.  Very well.  The hardest part was planking &amp; pulsing a leg at the same time.  EVERYthing started sweating at that moment.  My neck, my abs.  Dude.  Seriously.  My elbows, even!!!!  Lucia, the amazing, ex-Marine, instructor, uses a Tabata timer &amp; there were 3 sets of each group of workouts.  I’ll definitely be back.  The stretching &amp; weights, and everything was just what I needed to help round my week.</p><p>6 more sleeps till my sweet son comes home for Spring Break!!!!  I can’t wait to see him!  I just took a quick nap in his room.  I just miss spending time with him…hearing his voice &amp; seeing that precious face.  I can’t wait to see what Neville Longbottom does when he sees that his boy has come home!!!!  My son told me recently that he plans to take Neville with him everywhere that he can while he is in town.  :)  I love that.</p><p>Lent – the start of Holy Week this weekend!  I took my daughters to the Way of the Cross on Monday evening.  I may have mentioned that in the last post.  May also be a brain-cramp.  Regardless, going to a Way of the Cross can be a very moving experience.  One of our local Roman Catholic high schools, St. Thomas More, used to, and I’m sure still does, a very emotional one where the students are the actors.  Remembering all the years that I went to that brings tears to my eyes even now.  It is such a moving experience.  I love that the students have the opportunity to portray Jesus and the people He encountered during that time – just a very insightful experience.</p><p>Getting ready to go pick up my sweet 8th grader at the bus stop.  She loves her some weekends, too!  She was trying to work ahead on her homework so that she would have a “freer” weekend…can’t blame her &amp; love that responsible way she thinks!</p><p>Whatchall cooking at Easter?  We need to talk about it in this house REALLY soon.  I’ve been swirling ideas around my head.  But our neighborhood does a very good Easter Lunch – we did that last year.  But, since we aren’t going out of town, cooking may work – leftovers will be much-appreciated by my son, I know, who misses my cooking!  I definitely need to make a homemade mac &amp; cheese at some point.  Ham?  Or my mother-in-law’s crawfish enchiladas?  Her private recipe.  Talk.about.GOOD.  You can tell I’m from the South.  We love talking about cooking &amp; recipes &amp; down here, we usually talk about the next meal while we are eating :)  Now that seems to be more on special occasions with all the metabolisms slowing down &amp; food allergies going up!  sigh.  That’s okay.  That’s what special occasions are for &amp; after all, Easter is HUGE!!!  </p><p>Peace, y’all…</p>

3 responses »

  1. Look at you…all jazzed up for weekends, Lent, homecomings, ham and your faith…I love it, I love it, I love it! Been missing you. Oh, and yes, I’ve gotten your comments to come through on my blog. Thank you! Love each and every one. Can’t wait to hear more about Easter in Louisianna. 😎

  2. Hey, Laurie!!! Aww, thank you for the kind words! You always have an abundance of them. That’s a beautiful trait! Yay for my comments finding their way through cyberspace!!!! Talk to you soon!!!

Leave a Reply

